We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Smiles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Hibiscus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Digue Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Hibiscus
Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in La Digue Island
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Island Smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

What you long for at all the other places you finally get here in abundance: big, bright island smiles. Jennita is a star! Her little (but expanding) place is a good value for money. The rooms are functional and comfortable and spotless; what more do you need when you're spending most of your waking hours tooling around from beach to beach? Hibiscus has everything you need for self-catering (our room had the best-equipped kitchen we came across in our three weeks around the Seychelles), but if you catch word there's any kind of barbecue going on, pack up your beach towels and get back as soon as you can. It was a feast! Take advantage of the breakfast option at the very least. Les mwan goute!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This pension is a great deal and a very clean and lovely place to stay on La Digue. Since tourism infrastructure is not very well developed on this paradise island (and that is a good thing), I decided to spend three nights there on the honeymoon as an opposite to luxury hotel resorts. And it was definitely the right decision.

Pension Hibiscus is conveniently located, about 150 m from the waterfront an nearby a supermarket and an ATM. The owner, Jeanita, is super friendly and helpful and supported us to organize rental cars (a must on La Digue) as well as a very nice snorkeling trip to the neighboring islands Ile Coco and Ile Felicité.

The kitchen (even though we only used the fridge) was very well equipped and clean. The room was nicely arranged every day. And since we were in the tropics, hygiene is usually the biggest issue – but not here. Compared to a few five star resorts that we stayed during our trip, this place was always clean. If you plan on going to La Digue, I can only recommend to stay at Pension Hibiscus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at Pension Hibiscus. The rooms were neat and pretty, they were cleaned very tidily everyday. There is hot water in all rooms (which is not always the case on Seychelles). The prices for the rooms are reasonable and include a nice breakfast.
The place has a very, very nice atmospere. The staff is very friendly, they will serve breakfast even if you miss the regular breakfast time. The owner, Janeta, is very nice. Unlike many other landlords she will not try to sell you anything, but she will help you with everything you ask for. There´s not much more to say: recommendation!
My tip: book directly with Janeta and she will give you a better rate, then most travel agencys will.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The owner Jennita was very welcoming and we got our room straight away although we arrived earlier than normal check-in time. The room was fresh and clean and big enough for two persons. The kitchen was a bit separate from the bedroom, you need to walk through the shared livingroom to get there, but it was well equipped and nice. The shared living room has a TV. There is wireless internet as well, which worked fine. It was possible to rent bikes, straight from Jennita, which I would recommend since the nice beaches are a couple of kilometers away.
The location is about 1,5 km from the Jetty in La Passe, and there is an excellent supermarket just a couple of hundred meters away. The coast is about 300 meters away but the beach there isn't that nice. The closest nice beach is Anse Source d'Argent about 2 km away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed at Hibiscus guest house with my sister, this is the best place to stay in seychelles. La digue is an amazing place and the guest house just 2km away by bike from the house. The towels were changed daily, the appartement cleaned daily, beach towels supplied, the same service as in a big hotel, at a cheap price and with friendliness on top. Jennita is the best hostess, she made us feel like at home, with a chat everyday, bikes were organized and bought to us upon arrival, the island supermarket is just around the corner, it's convenient, super clean, and best value for money. we will be back again for sure

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Schweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

La digue is a beautiful island, and this guesthouse suits the island in every way. By far the best part of the "Pension Hibiscus" is the owner and host Jenita. She welcomed us like a family member and helped us whatever we needed. The rooms are clean, with fan and air-con and a well equiped kitchen. Highly recommended also for families with small kids. They will even get entertained by the cleaning ladies.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

A lovely place with a great host - Jenita. There a was bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, veranda and a shared living room for the room rate! Hire bikes were provided on request and also Jenita also introduced us to her brother who took us snorkeling which was an amazing experience. It was such a perfect place to relax and nights were spent drinking and eating on the veranda. The beach which is a 5 minute walk away is the perfect place to see the sunset!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hibiscus

Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in La Digue Island
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, relaxing boutique guesthouse with spotless rooms, complete kitchens, and an experienced and friendly owner. Pension Hibiscus provides the comforts of home while on La Digue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Hibiscus Hotel La Digue Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pension Hibiscus to your Saves list