We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Smiles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Hibiscus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Hibiscus to your Saves list
Pension Hibiscus
Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Island Smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

What you long for at all the other places you finally get here in abundance: big, bright island smiles. Jennita is a star! Her little (but expanding) place is a good value for money. The rooms are functional and comfortable and spotless; what more do you need when you're spending most of your waking hours tooling around from beach to beach? Hibiscus has everything you need for self-catering (our room had the best-equipped kitchen we came across in our three weeks around the Seychelles), but if you catch word there's any kind of barbecue going on, pack up your beach towels and get back as soon as you can. It was a feast! Take advantage of the breakfast option at the very least. Les mwan goute!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelCalifornians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Munich
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This pension is a great deal and a very clean and lovely place to stay on La Digue. Since tourism infrastructure is not very well developed on this paradise island (and that is a good thing), I decided to spend three nights there on the honeymoon as an opposite to luxury hotel resorts. And it was definitely the right decision.

Pension Hibiscus is conveniently located, about 150 m from the waterfront an nearby a supermarket and an ATM. The owner, Jeanita, is super friendly and helpful and supported us to organize rental cars (a must on La Digue) as well as a very nice snorkeling trip to the neighboring islands Ile Coco and Ile Felicité.

The kitchen (even though we only used the fridge) was very well equipped and clean. The room was nicely arranged every day. And since we were in the tropics, hygiene is usually the biggest issue – but not here. Compared to a few five star resorts that we stayed during our trip, this place was always clean. If you plan on going to La Digue, I can only recommend to stay at Pension Hibiscus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at Pension Hibiscus. The rooms were neat and pretty, they were cleaned very tidily everyday. There is hot water in all rooms (which is not always the case on Seychelles). The prices for the rooms are reasonable and include a nice breakfast.
The place has a very, very nice atmospere. The staff is very friendly, they will serve breakfast even if you miss the regular breakfast time. The owner, Janeta, is very nice. Unlike many other landlords she will not try to sell you anything, but she will help you with everything you ask for. There´s not much more to say: recommendation!
My tip: book directly with Janeta and she will give you a better rate, then most travel agencys will.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Regilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The owner Jennita was very welcoming and we got our room straight away although we arrived earlier than normal check-in time. The room was fresh and clean and big enough for two persons. The kitchen was a bit separate from the bedroom, you need to walk through the shared livingroom to get there, but it was well equipped and nice. The shared living room has a TV. There is wireless internet as well, which worked fine. It was possible to rent bikes, straight from Jennita, which I would recommend since the nice beaches are a couple of kilometers away.
The location is about 1,5 km from the Jetty in La Passe, and there is an excellent supermarket just a couple of hundred meters away. The coast is about 300 meters away but the beach there isn't that nice. The closest nice beach is Anse Source d'Argent about 2 km away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foliohattu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed at Hibiscus guest house with my sister, this is the best place to stay in seychelles. La digue is an amazing place and the guest house just 2km away by bike from the house. The towels were changed daily, the appartement cleaned daily, beach towels supplied, the same service as in a big hotel, at a cheap price and with friendliness on top. Jennita is the best hostess, she made us feel like at home, with a chat everyday, bikes were organized and bought to us upon arrival, the island supermarket is just around the corner, it's convenient, super clean, and best value for money. we will be back again for sure

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delpasarlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Schweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

La digue is a beautiful island, and this guesthouse suits the island in every way. By far the best part of the "Pension Hibiscus" is the owner and host Jenita. She welcomed us like a family member and helped us whatever we needed. The rooms are clean, with fan and air-con and a well equiped kitchen. Highly recommended also for families with small kids. They will even get entertained by the cleaning ladies.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m_kohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

A lovely place with a great host - Jenita. There a was bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, veranda and a shared living room for the room rate! Hire bikes were provided on request and also Jenita also introduced us to her brother who took us snorkeling which was an amazing experience. It was such a perfect place to relax and nights were spent drinking and eating on the veranda. The beach which is a 5 minute walk away is the perfect place to see the sunset!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#5 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#2 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#1 of 41 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Etoile Labrine
Etoile Labrine
#3 of 41 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hibiscus

Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, relaxing boutique guesthouse with spotless rooms, complete kitchens, and an experienced and friendly owner. Pension Hibiscus provides the comforts of home while on La Digue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hibiscus Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing