We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious family holiday in private beach bungalow with 5 star facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desroches Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Desroches Island to your Saves list
Desroches Island
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 378, Desroches Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious family holiday in private beach bungalow with 5 star facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We enjoyed the privacy of a self-contained, beautifully appointed private villa, combined with attentive, personalized service provided by the hotel. The flexibility of being able to enjoy our own, private island experience one day followed by 5 star pampering and catering the next, provides one with the best of both worlds.

The island is pristine and untouched and you feel that you have it all to yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    28
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
43
171
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, JHB
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

The concept is nice, and the staff try hard but the management is poor. We were due to stay 7 nights and left after 4 nights and stayed at the Four Seasons in Mahe which was excellent. Problem with Desroches is you have an island with great potential, staff that are OK but need training and disinterested senior management. Food was repetitve and boring. Lots of lizards in the rooms. Good getaway if you are not fussy about service standards (its OK, just not OK for what you pay). Summary - ok island, expensive for what you get and service could be improved.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

If you are looking for a piece of paradise, an away from it all restorative holiday then look no further. Desroches Island is the perfect destination. The service is personal - attentive without being obtrusive - and nothing is too much trouble. Dining is outstanding. The mark of a good chef is doing even the simple things to perfection - nothing on the menu disappointed - everything was well presented, full of taste and with plenty of variety to satisfy a variety of preferences. There was a wonderful absence of the ubiquitous buffet - only 2 of our 21 meals were not fully waited on at table. It was a particular treat to be served at breakfast and the banana and maple syrup pancake was definitely worth getting out of bed for! The staff made a particular effort to ring the changes for the dining experience by changing the setting of the tables - one night along the seashore, another round the pool, or under the palm trees. There is also the possibility of in villa dining for the ultimate romantic meal.
The accommodation was beyond expectations - we had a villa with a private pool, fronting an exquisitely beautiful beach. Every need was provided for even down to an ice maker! The beds were superb - we are generally hard to please in this respect and we both said that we have never had such comfortable nights sleep in a hotel. The high, non-claustrophobic mosquito nets were a bonus. Mossies were not that prevalent but it was still nice to be able to throw off the bed clothes without worrying what might be homing in for a bite! The communal hotel spaces were also superb - the result of imaginative design that was so in keeping with the surroundings.
There was plenty to do if you were into diving, fishing, water sports etc. - but even for the less energetic you could hardly be bored in such incredibly beautiful surroundings. Sipping cocktails on the seashore, while lost in the splendour of yet another spectacular sunset is a memory that will stay forever.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow,Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

A perfect experience! The rooms fantastic, even better than we expected. Staff were first class very friendly and could not do enough for us. The spa was special treatments on beach at sunset Wow. The Island is very easy to explore Bikes were free. The beaches wonderful.Food was top class you can also order a picnic basket which was wonderful. If you have dreamed of paradise This IS IT!! even better than a Dream.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I recently spent a week on Desroches Island... absolutely amazing. A picture perfect paradise. it was a wonderful island experience ... the welcoming coconut cocktails and cheery staff on arrival was a perfect start to an idyllic break away. The staff were superb, meals were outstanding - amazing considering the remoteness of the island. Our meals were served in a variety of settings ... the best being on the island shoreline. The whole atmosphere of the island is relaxed, yet there was a lot to keep us busy when we were not just chilling on the spectacular untouched beaches. Loads of watersports, cycling/walks around the island, picnics in remote places (amazing) and superb spa treatments. We had some of the most outstanding sunrises and sunsets. Another great thing about this island is that there are no other hotels on the island - it felt so exclusive and private. With the rates being fully inclusive, it really made this an affordable getaway. It would be the perfect romantic getaway ... I would love to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Amazing hotel, brilliant staff and great food. The chalets are nicely finished and the private garden and access to the beach are great.

Would thoroughly recommend, but with one proviso. Currently, the hotel is the only thing on the island which is one of the reasons it is so peaceful and relaxing. However, development of around 20 new private villas nearby is well under way. Not sure if there will be more to come, but even this number will obviously bring more people onto what is a small island.

I really really hope it doesn't get spoiled by the development, as currently it is an absolute gem.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything!
  • Disliked — Future developments....
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

Desroches island is a beautiful small coral island in the Seychelles. The resort is small but perfectly formed - it's peaceful, tranquil and with plenty of things to do if you want to do something more active, like bike around the island or go diving. It's an ideal honeymoon/romantic getaway. However, whilst standards are very high at this resort, if you're expecting full on luxury with all the bells and whistles, you may be better off on one of the larger islands. The main attraction here is tranquility rather than opulent luxury.

A special mention goes to the food - being so remote I had low expectations - but the variety and quality of the meals is fantastic. The chef also accommodated my severe food allergies, even when it meant taking things off the menu and re-writing it!

The one main drawback, and I say this with great sadness, is the development of another resort on the island. I'll post a photo so you can see how big it is in contrast to the current resort. 50 new villas (they look big) and right by what we thought was the nicest stretch of beach. I'm not sure how this will affect Desroches - for us the tranquility was the main factor in coming here. I'd love to go back, but I 'm not sure how this new resort will change the island.

  • Liked — tranquility
  • Disliked — building work on island
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desroches Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desroches Island

Address: PO Box 378, Desroches Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Desroches Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desroches Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Desroches Island 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARADISE PERFECTION ON A HIDDEN SEYCHELLES ISLAND The advent of civilisation can often disturb the allure and simplicity of paradise. To delight in ultimate luxury there usually has to be sacrifice. But what if we want it all . . . To experience an untouched natural sanctuary on an island in the far reaches of the Indian Ocean, without leaving behind the sophistication that modern life has to offer . . . Desroches Island is a luxurious Seychelles Resort in the Amirante Archipelago, considered to be of the most pristine and untouched islands still around today. The naturally inspired and tastefully modern Beach Retreats and Exclusive Villas provide the epitome in luxury and opulent indulgence. Blessed with one of the world's healthiest climates, and miles of unblemished beaches, Desroches Island is a refuge for romance, adventure and pampered relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Desroches Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desroches Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.