We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desroches Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Desroches Island to your Saves list
Desroches Island
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 378, Desroches Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madikwe Hills
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My holiday at Desroches was an unforgettable experience! From the moment we landed and were greeted by about 10 friendly staff till the moment our plane took off again.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, nothing is too much effort and their attention to detail is outstanding. Everyone knows your name.

The food was excellent, wide variety, beautifully presented and very tasty and the service was great. Depending on the weather, one can dine on the beach, 20m from the water, under the big tree or on the verandah at the restaurant, overlooking the swimming pool and ocean.

I did 7 dives, each one phenomenal. The diving equipment and boats are all in mint condition and the staff really know what they are doing, above and beneath the water. the cave dives and swim throughs were my favourite, to be in a pitch black cave 25m under the water is mind blowing! (they give you flash lights...)
We did a trip to St Josephs island which was also great fun as we had a chance to do some deep sea fishing on the way back - nearly caught a sail fish! Next time...

Riding around the island with your bicycle is a must (you get your own bicycle on arrival, for the duration of your stay) - there are so many things to see. From the giant Aldabra Tortoises (the one was about 220kg) to the quiet picnic spots all over the island.
Other things to do is cricket matches with the staff on Sundays, tennis, spa, gym, yoga or plenty of relaxation.

The accommodation is great; spacious, beautifully decorated and each room has its own garden and private beach in front.

Thank you to every one at Desroches for an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    28
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
43
170
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I decided to book this trip and in a couple of days we were on Ethiad airlines on our way to Mahe.
the reservations was quick, helpfull and efficient and truly this was were our travel started.
we arrived at mahe airport and waited in the lounge area for our flight. we only arrived at 6am local time and was very tired. we slept in the lounge area. we were served with filter coffee, colddrinks and water. the lady that met us was very professional. it was great to have free wi-fi at the lounge area and helped the time to fly by quicker. This was already the start of an amazing experience. it would have been nice if a small sandwich or croissant could be serve as they do not serve breakfast on the plane, so by 9am you are very hungry. you can go into Victoria, but the taxi trip there and back was very expensive and the shops only open at 9am some only at 10am.
we finally left on a beachcraft for Desroches. Seychelles are surely one of the most beautifull islands we have been to and would love to discover it some more. we were greeted by about 15 of the staff at the landing strip waving at us, and we already felt home. we were picked up by Caroline and our luggage was delivered to our room just as we arrived. the Beach suites are beautiful and settled right on its own private beach. the view is amazing but also very private. the room is very spacious, beautiful and surely a home away from home.
the food was surely one of the best "excursions" we have ever had. the best food we have ever had on a trip overseas. the taste, the smell, the service, absolutely everything was amazing. the staff are very very professional and surely exceed your expectations. there was alot of south african working there and we wish we knew this before hand so that we could take some supplies for them from home. this island and the organizing is absolutely amazing as EVERTHING comes from Mahe. the logistics are amazing if you start thinking about it. the island is big enough for alot of privacy but small enough to get around on your bicycles.
We chose Desroches for the diving, and this is absolutely undescribable. the best diving we have ever had. the viz was not so good, but the weather was bad with rain and the wind being very hastily but we still saw alot of fishes, sharks, turtles and we did cave diving for the first time. the only negative remark we have is that the cocktails are not included in the all-inclusive rate and wish it was. Maybe it was better this way..........
Desroches, your island, your staff and memories will never be forgotten. Thank you for making this trip one that we will never forget. we would love to see you again in the future.

Room Tip: There are only 18 beach suites, maybe the ones closer to the spa are more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time in Desroches. What more can we say? The island is exactly as you imagine a dream in the middle of the indian ocean. The accomodation very luxury, and all tha guys ...really really gentle, nice, kind... Always smiling and present fo anyhing you can need.
The food is simoly fantastic! You can have tour meal in the restaraunt or on the beach, as you like it.
Your privacy is always safe.
You can see corals, barracuda, turtles, rays... Only walking on the beach.
Super super holiday...unforgettable!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the move
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had an absolutely fabulous holiday at Desroches Island. Our villa was very well designed, perfect for our two families traveling together, with plenty of common space, a well-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and spacious sleeping quarters with incredibly comfortable beds. There were not many guests while we were there, which made it feel like we were living on our own private island as we zipped about on bikes.

The food was fabulous, even more so given that you're in the middle of nowhere. Not too many vegetarian options on the menu, but given how accommodating the staff were with any other requests, I imagine even strict vegetarians would be well catered for. Meals can be served at your villa, in picnic spots around the island, on the beach or at the restaurant, all with a smile.

The spa was nice, the gym basic but adequate, and the range of water sports activities quite broad The new Kids Haven was an unexpected treat, with the tweens in our group off on all kinds of adventures on the island. Again, the staff is truly there to make your dreams come true, and they do an amazing job of it.

Highly recommend it as a wonderful escape from reality!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If there was a 6th dot category for "extraordinary", this resort would qualify. We have spent the most perfect week on Desroches. Starting with Michelle at the reservations desk who made everything happen, it was already promising. Then our villa, the staff, the activities and the food, everything was perfect. Truly spectacular service and attention to details. You actually have to be careful what you ask for, because someone will hear and make it happen. We traveled with friends, 4 adults and 3 kids. We each had private quarters as well as common areas, a perfect arrangement for two families. This is the ultimate barefoot resort: low key while sophisticated and luxurious. Casteways, the water activities and dive center is fantastic, as is the staff there: thanks to Brian, Dev and Tyron as well as captain Hayden who made our experiences so fun. Escape, the Spa: a truly relaxing and decadent experience in the most serene and beautiful seaside environment.. The Kids Haven and Tom were a great surprise to our children who had a ball, the staff at the restaurant; Carly, the chefs and tenders, the "Dream Team" Francisco and Caroline, all the best and Vernon, our butler rightfully employee of the year and best at what he does. We even were treated to a staff's Cricket game on Sunday and invited to join! Don't miss it. And check out the turtles and ICS's conservation center, too! Thank you all and sorry for forgetting some names. Extraordinary!

Room Tip: The villas are great and the golfcart driven "limos" and bikes provided make it easy to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This resort is just lovely - from the moment you arrive you are taken care of by the very attentive and professional staff. It is the small touches that leave a lasting impression e.g. the staff waving guests as they arrive and depart, the chef caring about what you think of the food and all staff greeting you by name.

The villas are beautiful but make sure you bring plenty of mosquito repellant because the critters really do bite a lot. I was very impressed with the food and the menu that the chef manages to create from locally sourced produce. When my boyfriend left most of his burger the chef came out to speak to him to ask why he had not eaten it and if there was something wrong with the food or with the way in which it had been cooked - it was neither but he just could not manage it!

There is plenty to do on the island itself from cycling, walking and exploring to swimming in the gorgeous sea or just relaxing. The villas all contain books, which you can laze around reading if you didn't bring your own.

This is what you imagine Seychelles to be like and staying here will never be a disappointment. We will definitely return - it is paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had then most wonderful family holiday at Des Roches over Christmas. There were 32 of us in our Group who had travelled from all over the World. Seasons in Africa arranged our booking and all our transfers and we arrived on the Island with "bang". The staff were very attentive and ensured that all our needs were catered for including that of "Gogo", our 80 year old Mum, Gran & Great Gran who took us on holiday. The food was excellent, and the only reason we didn't put on weight was because we had great fun pedalling around the island! The Snorkelling was excellent and for those who wanted to go further afield, there was diving and fly & deep sea fishing available. All in all we were a very happy Family with such fond memories of Des Roches. Our thanks to the Des Roches Team and the Seasons in Africa team for making it so memorable.

Room Tip: For a our family the Villas were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desroches Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desroches Island

Address: PO Box 378, Desroches Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Desroches Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desroches Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Desroches Island 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARADISE PERFECTION ON A HIDDEN SEYCHELLES ISLAND The advent of civilisation can often disturb the allure and simplicity of paradise. To delight in ultimate luxury there usually has to be sacrifice. But what if we want it all . . . To experience an untouched natural sanctuary on an island in the far reaches of the Indian Ocean, without leaving behind the sophistication that modern life has to offer . . . Desroches Island is a luxurious Seychelles Resort in the Amirante Archipelago, considered to be of the most pristine and untouched islands still around today. The naturally inspired and tastefully modern Beach Retreats and Exclusive Villas provide the epitome in luxury and opulent indulgence. Blessed with one of the world's healthiest climates, and miles of unblemished beaches, Desroches Island is a refuge for romance, adventure and pampered relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Desroches Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desroches Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.