We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desroches Island

Save Saved
You added Desroches Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desroches Island
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 378, Desroches Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Bolzano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time in Desroches. What more can we say? The island is exactly as you imagine a dream in the middle of the indian ocean. The accomodation very luxury, and all tha guys ...really really gentle, nice, kind... Always smiling and present fo anyhing you can need.
The food is simoly fantastic! You can have tour meal in the restaraunt or on the beach, as you like it.
Your privacy is always safe.
You can see corals, barracuda, turtles, rays... Only walking on the beach.
Super super holiday...unforgettable!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    24
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
40
145
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
on the move
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had an absolutely fabulous holiday at Desroches Island. Our villa was very well designed, perfect for our two families traveling together, with plenty of common space, a well-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and spacious sleeping quarters with incredibly comfortable beds. There were not many guests while we were there, which made it feel like we were living on our own private island as we zipped about on bikes.

The food was fabulous, even more so given that you're in the middle of nowhere. Not too many vegetarian options on the menu, but given how accommodating the staff were with any other requests, I imagine even strict vegetarians would be well catered for. Meals can be served at your villa, in picnic spots around the island, on the beach or at the restaurant, all with a smile.

The spa was nice, the gym basic but adequate, and the range of water sports activities quite broad The new Kids Haven was an unexpected treat, with the tweens in our group off on all kinds of adventures on the island. Again, the staff is truly there to make your dreams come true, and they do an amazing job of it.

Highly recommend it as a wonderful escape from reality!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If there was a 6th dot category for "extraordinary", this resort would qualify. We have spent the most perfect week on Desroches. Starting with Michelle at the reservations desk who made everything happen, it was already promising. Then our villa, the staff, the activities and the food, everything was perfect. Truly spectacular service and attention to details. You actually have to be careful what you ask for, because someone will hear and make it happen. We traveled with friends, 4 adults and 3 kids. We each had private quarters as well as common areas, a perfect arrangement for two families. This is the ultimate barefoot resort: low key while sophisticated and luxurious. Casteways, the water activities and dive center is fantastic, as is the staff there: thanks to Brian, Dev and Tyron as well as captain Hayden who made our experiences so fun. Escape, the Spa: a truly relaxing and decadent experience in the most serene and beautiful seaside environment.. The Kids Haven and Tom were a great surprise to our children who had a ball, the staff at the restaurant; Carly, the chefs and tenders, the "Dream Team" Francisco and Caroline, all the best and Vernon, our butler rightfully employee of the year and best at what he does. We even were treated to a staff's Cricket game on Sunday and invited to join! Don't miss it. And check out the turtles and ICS's conservation center, too! Thank you all and sorry for forgetting some names. Extraordinary!

Room Tip: The villas are great and the golfcart driven "limos" and bikes provided make it easy to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This resort is just lovely - from the moment you arrive you are taken care of by the very attentive and professional staff. It is the small touches that leave a lasting impression e.g. the staff waving guests as they arrive and depart, the chef caring about what you think of the food and all staff greeting you by name.

The villas are beautiful but make sure you bring plenty of mosquito repellant because the critters really do bite a lot. I was very impressed with the food and the menu that the chef manages to create from locally sourced produce. When my boyfriend left most of his burger the chef came out to speak to him to ask why he had not eaten it and if there was something wrong with the food or with the way in which it had been cooked - it was neither but he just could not manage it!

There is plenty to do on the island itself from cycling, walking and exploring to swimming in the gorgeous sea or just relaxing. The villas all contain books, which you can laze around reading if you didn't bring your own.

This is what you imagine Seychelles to be like and staying here will never be a disappointment. We will definitely return - it is paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had then most wonderful family holiday at Des Roches over Christmas. There were 32 of us in our Group who had travelled from all over the World. Seasons in Africa arranged our booking and all our transfers and we arrived on the Island with "bang". The staff were very attentive and ensured that all our needs were catered for including that of "Gogo", our 80 year old Mum, Gran & Great Gran who took us on holiday. The food was excellent, and the only reason we didn't put on weight was because we had great fun pedalling around the island! The Snorkelling was excellent and for those who wanted to go further afield, there was diving and fly & deep sea fishing available. All in all we were a very happy Family with such fond memories of Des Roches. Our thanks to the Des Roches Team and the Seasons in Africa team for making it so memorable.

Room Tip: For a our family the Villas were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Desroche Island - Seychells - unbelievable holiday destination. 2 weeks wasn't enough. Loads to do for the kids and fishing was fantastic. Hotel food excellent and we have not encountered friendlier staff anywhere. Will be hard to beat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

WOW! - Our first trip to the Seychelles far exceeded our expectations. The Villas offer the perfect mix of privacy, luxury and great service in the most spectacular location. For a relaxing "get away from it all" holiday, this place cannot be beaten. Activities are there for you if you wish, but the villa is your very own private beach home during your stay - the ultimate mix. Would we go again ??? ... TOMORROW!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desroches Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desroches Island

Address: PO Box 378, Desroches Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Desroches Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desroches Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Desroches Island 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Desroches Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desroches Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.