We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frohliche Weinachten!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Stammtisch Restaurant

Zum Stammtisch Restaurant
6946 Myrtle Ave, Glendale, NY 11385-7263
718-386-3014
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Glendale
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Swiss
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Lynbrook
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Frohliche Weinachten!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been to Zum Stammtisch several times and opted to go here with girlfriends for our annual Christmas luncheon. The traditional German tannenbaum and decorated garlands made the place hum with holiday spirit. Two of us opted for the goose special and the other had the enormous portion of jagerschnitzel-the entire plate was covered with meat, gravy and dumplings. Start off with a stein of Hofbrau or one of the other German beers on tap while you enjoy the fresh bread or pretzel rolls. The cozy booths in the main dining room lend themselves to conversation and long meals. The wait staff is attentive and friendly..the German background music plays at the right volume and the outside world falls away as you enjoy a wonderful German experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place seems authentic in its German atmosphere and the food is great. My favorites are veal schnitzel and apple pie a la mode.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I paid a first visit to this restaurant today. It is a moderate size neighborhood place with a bar on one side and an adjoining pork and imported food store. The decor is kitsch German with half-timbering and lots of stuff on the walls. This was further enhanced by blue and white Bavarian Oktoberfest decorations.

I had the sauerbraten and it was nicely sweet and sour and tender. This came with 2 flavorful potato dumplings and rather powerful red cabbage. The portions were generous and a small warm loaf of bread was provided. This came to around $20. There are also daily menu specials.

Unfortunately, Glendale is not served by the NYC subway system and non-local persons who do not drive would likely require several buses to reach this location. The Q55 bus stops in front. I would certainly drop by again if in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
1 review
“How 1 person can ruin a very enjoyable dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Last night my wife I went to Zum Stammtisch for dinner , if you are expecting modern decor this is not the place for you. If you are looking for solid German cuisine this is an ideal spot. Now for the issue, our server whose name I now know is Grace( who was truly a disgrace) only because it was on the check, could not have been more rude or disinterested. When we sat down she tossed the menus at us, never welcomed us or introduced herself. Then less then 5 minutes later came back and basically demanded we order right then ( place was half full at best with no one waiting). No mention of specials or sides we could choose from. Dinner was quite good,however the waitress never asked how are meal was,and she had a scowl on her face the entire time. The young blonde girl clearing the tables ( didn't catch her name) was friendly and helpful. This server completely left a sour taste in our mouths, hence we won't be returning or recommending this place to anyone. It is quite puzzling why you would have a job that relies on tips and be so Rude!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A neighborhood Legend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A must-eat if in Glendale. Good food, good service. The portions are large as well. Good for dinner or even lunch. Definitely different than anything around. Parking can be difficult but I'd stay around Cooper Ave.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Stammtisch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zum Stammtisch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Stammtisch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.