We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good they named it twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jo Jo Apples - CLOSED

Jo Jo Apples
149 Glen St, Glen Cove, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Maidstone
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“So good they named it twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Came across by mistake, as we were staying in Glenn Cove.

I can not fault anything, staff brilliant and friendly, food excellent and a great choice.

We initially went for breakfast, but enjoyed it so much that we decided to go back in the evening for dinner, different staff but each and everyone of them were polite, happy and helpful (even asking our question about a movie).

Food was good and great VFM (Value for money).

I recommend 100%

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, warm, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We love this place! We have been here any times in the year or so since it opened and have never been disappointed. The waitstaff is attentive and friendly, and the food — and we've tried dozens of different dishes — is always finely prepared and presented. Reasonably priced, too.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“we were delighted to encounter this l810 house converted into a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My daughter and I read the reviews for this restaurant and thought we would give it a try. What a pleasant surprise! when we pulled up to the entrance which was just like a country inn. the owners have retained the historical ambiance of this magnificent colonial which has four different dining rooms that were warm and cozy. The original wood floors added to the homey atmosphere. We were immediately greeted by a very pleasant waitress who was very eager to please and the owner came to greet as as well. the menu is very well- developed so that there is always a choice for diners who have trouble finding something they like on a menu. The choices include breakfast which is served all day , lunch and dinner. I always love going for breakfast and it is not always easy to find a breakfast place that is pleasant but also has good food and a wide variety of choices and particularly like the fact that this breakfast can be at any time. There is also a dinner special every night that includes a soup or salad, an entree and a dessert for a reasonable price the restaurant is open seven days a week and is handicapped accessible . The parking is street parking and the restaurant is very clearly seen from the street. i would recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a new dining experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This place is abolutely delicious... the menu is awesome something for everyone! I came here with a big group hungover from a wedding. The waitresses were so friendly and accommodating. They brought us coffee right away! The food was yummy. I had the spicy corn fritatta - it did not disappoint! I also had a taste of my friends pancakes made with fresh strawberries and bananas - it was cooked perfectly! Fluffy pancakes and sweet fruit. Yum. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This restaurant is calm and peaceful. The seats are comfortable and the menu is varied for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The pancakes, baked oatmeal, and English breakfast were delicious and excellent choices for breakfast. I have not tried the lunch yet but the panini sandwiches, soups, and salads are great for dinner. The amount of food is ample and satisfying. Great food and great value. Great for a quiet dinner, time out with friends, and families as well. Worth the try!!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo Jo Apples also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jo Jo Apples, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.