We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Winery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tousey Winery

Tousey Winery
1774 Route 9, Germantown, NY 12526
(518) 537-9463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Germantown
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Coxsackie, New York
1 review
“A Fabulous Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This winery offers their wine at our local farmer's market and it's fantastic! I typically prefer red wines, but I LOVE their Chardonnay and Riesling and also enjoy their Rebel Rose ... their red wines are excellent; I find it difficult to pick a favorite. They have a lovely tasting room, but I was lucky enough to go with a group on their vineyard tour and had a wonderful time. What a fantastic way to spend an afternoon among the vines drinking wine. Ben was a great guide and we all had a great time. I highly recommend their wine, and if you can get a group together (I think you need 12 to do the vineyard tour) to do the tour of the vineyard it's beautiful and very informative.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulster Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite Wine Tasting in the Hudson Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Aside from the hosts' inviting welcome, which made me feel right at home the minute I walked through the door, there is no more charming atmosphere than this in which to unwind on a sultry Friday evening while sipping 12 flights of delicious wine. We gathered in an intimate setting around a magnificent curved slab of beautifully polished, salvaged wood which served as our "tasting bar," set with glistening stemware and bowls of English crackers. The main tasting room was designed in a low-key but sophisticated country style, surrounded by discreet, elegant displays of their own wines, local artisanal honey, jams and homemade "wine soaps." With Ben's deft explanations of how the tasting & scoring would proceed, and a good jigger of his and Kim's humor thrown in for good measure, the dozen or so of us who first sat down together as strangers became quick friends as we began to share comments, impressions, and laughter as the evening went on. The quality of wines--both red & white in this case--were excellent, and we were even generously sent home by Kim with the remainder of a lovely pino grigio that we had given a score of "3 out of 3" --a testament to that personal touch that distinguishes them from more run-of-the-mill destinations. The blind tasting part was most fun when the true identities of each wine were revealed as their brown bag covers were ripped off, with squeals of "I knew it !" or "No kidding!" punctuating the air as tasters compared their notes with reality. The pours were extremely generous, and after 12 of them, everyone felt entirely satiated. Ben's knowledge is vast and added a nice educational element to the tasting. What a great deal for such a modest sum! You could hardly find a more relaxing and convivial way to spend an evening in a country setting so typical of the Hudson Valley. You are not going to find more down-to-earth hosts than here, nor better prices on award-winning local wines if you want to take home a few bottles as a souvenir--if the locals "in the know" don't buy them out first. Reserve in advance.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a Great Experience at this Winery the Host was delightful
The Wines just as Delightful and Refreshing! It was the highlight of our day passing through Germantown,NY.
Our Dog "Jubie" has been to Wineries around the World and had a great time here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great wines, Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I have had the privilege to enjoy various wines from Tousey winery at the local Coxsackie Farmers' Market. Not only are the wines wonderful but the owners are knowledgeable and friendly. If you get an opportunity to stop by the winery or their booth at a farmers market make sure you try, you will certainly buy a bottle or three!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Be Ware- Tasting Fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tasting fee is not announced until after the tasting has been completed. We're from the Midwest and tasting fees are usually announced at the start in order to allow the customer the opportunity to pass on the expense, if desired. In addition, the samples are definitely on the small side which is definitely unusual with a paid tasting. The quality of the wine was pleasant. Wine by glass is $5 which might be "OK" except the amount in the glass was definitely on the "small" side. Probably a better deal to just grab a bottle.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tousey Winery also viewed

 

Been to Tousey Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tousey Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.