We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Enchantment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Mountain View Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Germantown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Mountain View Retreat
Address will be given upon reservation, Germantown, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Germantown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
fort Lauderdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Enchantment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our visit to The Hudson River Valley was to celebrate the marriage of a delightful young couple with dear friends in a magical location. As it turned out, we were blessed with the rare experience of Patricia Heller and her lovely home. Patricia's enthusiasm for the comfort of her guests and the sincerity of her nature, made our trip unforgettable.
The accommodations were spacious and cozy and the bed and linens were truly luxurious. The two mornings we were there, we were treated to an elegant, delicious breakfast that was made and served with love. You could taste it.
Patricia has mastered the fine balance of meeting your every need, pampering you and yet, still giving you the feeling that you have the whole place to yourself.
The house is set on a large wooded property, with winding paths and interesting nooks and crannies to explore. you can walk, meditate, sit, read and commune with nature. Spectacular!
I know I'll be traveling back someday just to wander the woods with Patricia and have meaningful conversations. She is fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Gosh, you make me sound so good, I want to make a reservation here and come stay with me! Thanks so much, I throughly enjoyed your stay and looking forward to wandering the woods and our meaningful conversations -- soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A good friend and I stayed with Patricia at her Mountain View Retreat for two nights, and I was thoroughly impressed. Her property is lovely, and her service is wonderful - she is very focused on making people feel welcome while respecting their privacy. The room and bed were so, so clean and comfortable. I will be glad to visit again the next time I'm in the Rhinebeck / Bard College area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you! I'm looking forward to your visit again soon with your family -- though I'll miss Ms. L!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from a romantic weekend at MVT. The house is a mini - museum but extremely user-friendly and comfortable. The room - master suite - was huge, well-decorated and well-furnished. Patricia is a terrific and interesting (eclectic) host who is engaging and immensely helpful. Her breakfasts are plentiful and delicious and the grounds offer many lovely spots for short walks, sitting, lying in a hammock under the morning sun, contemplating, reading or just hanging out.

The Retreat is within 20 minutes of Rhinebeck, Tivoli, Bard College, Germantown. We visited all those places on Saturday and ate both nights in unusually good restaurants in Tivoli. It's a fabulous area for sightseeing, shopping and mellowing out. On Sunday, just 10 minutes up 9G is Olana, the incredible estate of Frederic Church the famous 19th century painter and ten minutes from there we were in Hudson, NY with its astounding number of antique stores and restaurants.

This is a great getaway for city folks. We would definitely return.

Chuck H., New York City

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you -- it was great having you two here…do hope you return soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Staying at A Mountain View Retreat was truly perfection! The grounds were gorgeous, the room was very clean and spacious, and Patricia was lovely! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Perfection back at you! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were heading up to Rhinebeck for a professional conference and having difficulty finding a place to stay. When the highly recommended hotel I called told me they had no vacancies, they gave me the good news- that we would be in for a treat if Mountain View Retreat had space. Within five minutes we had a complete change of plans and were headed up to Germantown. Patricia greeted us in the driveway and showed us around her house, which was as charming as it was comfy. She graciously offered us snacks, and made sure we had everything we needed in the way of convenience. She was charming, funny and attentive and made sure we were happy in every way possible. Her breakfasts are wonderful and so is her property - before leaving she took us on a hike, which was very zen. Mountain View is lovely!

Room Tip: I am counting the hike as a fitness center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
You two were a pleasure too! Loved our art talks! So glad you had a great time, thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a fantastic stay. Patricia was the perfect hostess and entertainer. Her breakfasts were a delight to the palate. Knowing it was our anniversary she made two reservations at two of the most amazing dining establishments. One French, "Le Petit Bistro" and one Italian, "Mercado". Both were absolutely wonderful. So tasteful and inviting was her décor along with her capturing personality that it was difficult to depart. We hope to return again and again. Thank you for a relaxing and charming experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
So, I've got it in writing you are coming back again and again! Yay! Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Owner Patricia Heller has created a visual wonderland with her uncanny knack for upscale decorating. She combines elegance and whimsy in the most thoughtful, comfortable, "can't wait to retire" room settings. I challenge anyone not to enjoy their finest, most memorable sleep on her "Fit for a King or Queen" luxurious mattresses. When you awake, the scent of freshly baked lemon-white-chocolate scones will greet you as well as generous bowls of fresh fruit. But wait -- there is more. Depending on the day, you may enjoy thick wedges of challah French toast or fresh blueberry pancakes. All the while, there is cheerful banter around the exquisitely decorated table as Patricia entertains with anecdotes of her extremely fascinating former life. This is an extremely intimate, cozy B&B - book early and book fast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Mountain View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Mountain View Retreat

Address: Address will be given upon reservation, Germantown, NY
Location: United States > New York > Germantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Germantown
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the serenity of the Catskill Mountains, the Hudson River and the magnificent Hudson Valley! A Mountain View Retreat is a lovely respite from daily life. Come enjoy 20 private wooded acres with views of the Catskill Mountainsat this former small hunting lodge renovated into an exclusive, posh retreat for the discriminating guest. (Bring good walking shoes to enjoy the many paths.)Definition of a B&B: A type of lodging that is smaller than a hotel and may be in a private residence licensed for guests. Bed & Breakfasts generally appeal to guests who desire a more personal interaction with their destination. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Mountain View Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Mountain View Retreat to your Saves list