We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't quite come up to the mark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geneva on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Geneva on the Lake to your Saves list
Geneva on the Lake
1001 Lochland Rd., Rte. 14s, Geneva, NY 14456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Geneva
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“didn't quite come up to the mark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

On the plus side - great location, stunning views, fabulous restaurant (breakfast/lunch/dinner all experienced). Accommodation - bit dated but good size room/facilities
On the down side - management at the hotel was lacking. The staff were trying their best but the owner had little idea of how to run the place.
You could see what a potential gem this hotel was - whilst lots of things were good there were some easy things to be sorted that were just ignored.
The pool area could have been great but the cleanliness and service was non-existent. We cleaned the leaves and other debris out of the pool ourselves.
Whilst we enjoyed our stay overall, we wouldn't return whist under current ownership.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    47
    16
    17
    15
See reviews for
22
99
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed at Geneva on the Lake with their 2006 New Year's Eve package. Included a cocktail party in the Leonardo di Vinci Suite; dinner in the Lancellotti Dining Room, and a champagne brunch in the dining room the next morning.

Upon arrival, we had no problem with check in. The clerk was friendly and helpful; the bellhop took us to our room and showed us where everything was; again very knowledgeable and friendly. In the room were fresh flowers, complimentary fruit, Finger Lakes wine in the fridge and two bottles of water. Wireless internet is complimentary (although we didn't use it); room includes a DVD player with complimentary library of DVD's in the office (didn't use that either due to our short stay, so can't comment on that). Room was a 1 bedroom deluxe suite; included queen bed, nothing special bathroom (no jacuzzi), fully stocked kitchenette, and small living room. Our view was of the lake, but was blocked by pine trees (we knew this). Our room was B2B. The inn has 23 rooms, 6 suites. I would guess our room was not one that was recently renovated. It was very clean and comfortable; turn down service was a nice touch. The Audi family (of Stickley fame) owns Geneva on the Lake; I was disappointed our room didn't have any Stickley furnishings, as mentioned on the website.

Cocktails in the daVinci suite was charming by the fire; room was small and intimate. Dinner in the dining room was lovely. Dining room is small; website says seats 50, and I would say it was full with New Year's Eve package guests. Service was friendly and quick; water was replenished quickly; dishes were cleared quickly when we were done. Food was excellent - flavorful and plentiful.

Brunch was part of the package and food was again plentiful and delicious. Tables were cleared of dishes very quickly, coffee was constantly re-filled, and wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

Several comments, as an informational guide: the rooms on the upper floors (2 and 3) are reached by a narrow, fairly steep stairway. I believe there are no elevators in the building. If mobility is a problem, I would suggest requesting a room on the ground floor when making your reservation. Also, the dining room is not accessible from inside the inn; you have to go outside and then take another entrance to the dining room. Slightly inconvenient, but helps to know when planning. As we were there in the winter, I can't comment on outdoor activities, such as pool or boating.

Overall, I would recommend the inn for a special occasion romantic getaway, for one night. It is a small and intimate facility. We were always treated like special guests; I don't have any complaints about wait staff or other staff on the grounds, and food was excellent. Prices were high, but what I would expect to stay in an inn such as this.

  • Liked — Small and intimate
  • Tips/Secrets — Tips included in my review
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

We stayed in the A1-A, a beautifully appointed suite. We were very comfortable and enjoyed every room including the large red jacuzi. We did not even mind the rainy weather because the room was so comfortable and large. We found everything clean, except a coffee karaf which had old, molded, coffee forgotten inside. We were greated with complimentary bottle of Wine, fresh fruit and fresh flowers in our room. We were not bothered by housekeeping every minute, but they happily attended to our needs for extra towels or blankets, whenever we wanted.The linens were extremely luxurious. The parking lot attended was very friendly and even washed our car for us. The grounds were lovely and serene with a beautiful view of the Lake and casual yard games set up for guests to use as they pleased.. The only down side was the room service menu had to ordered off of a pricey dinner menu after a certain hour. We found that the high prices, no casual food to order, as well as high extra charges for bringing it to the room, were disappointing. We opted to buy our food and cook in the suite. Al lovey place and area to visit, would recommend it highly.

  • Liked — serenity
  • Disliked — in room food serve too expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — request the suite A1-A ...awsume!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties,NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

We are in total agreement with the bad reviews for this place. The staff had no idea of what 'hospitality' means(with few exceptions), the grounds were poorly maintained and I agree...what's with the staff taking over the pool on Mondays??-they made the guests feel like outsiders! The food :over-priced and mis-represented, very mediocre,fortunately we did not go for their 'package' which included dinner and only ate breakfast there. Based on what they charged for meals one would hope that at least you would receive good service but the staff which existed when we were there, consisted of untrained, incompetent college kids...totally untrained in the art of hospitality. The only mature adults we saw were our chambermaid and the a woman at the desk when we checked out. The existing location ,original building and pool are very pretty (albeit inconsistently maintained) and the best thing I can say about our stay (4 nights) is that because there were so few guests, often we had the outside public places to ourselves which was nice.
I mentioned the lack of hospitality on the way out and received somewhat of an unconcerned response. My theory of this place?....the owners are not present and use this place as a 'showplace' for their personal needs when they are in town and 'hope' they receive income when they're not. Don't go unless you want a grand and private swimming experience-though not on Mondays!...and definately don't waste your money on the food.

  • Liked — pool, lake view site
  • Disliked — staff, over-priced
  • Tips/Secrets — don't eat there
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

the hotel looks grand on the outside, in fact it is very nice look of a villa. The lobby, lounge (if you can call it one) and the resturants were unspectacular - at best. Our room was shabby/dated, the carpet was worn/dirty. The kitchen and bathroom was in good shape. The three closets were huge. I found a bug in the bed (yuck).

The pool is was pretty as the ground with an unbeliveable view of the lawn and the back. There were not many people at the pool - except for the hotel staff who get pool privledges (???) and on Mondays they get to bring thier families along too.

The pool guy was nice they provided cold bottled water at the pool but no bar and the sign said no drinking (I took is as a guideline not a rule). Oh yeah you can't swim in the lake either but they did have a nice boat ride.

Ok place not worth the money but the ONLY outdoor pool on the lake if you go in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

We were a little worried after we booked our stay at this resort. The reviews were not very good. But we have learned from experience to find out for ourselves. The place was first class all the way. Yes it is old, it is suppose to be old. It was built in 1910. The bellhop that took us to our room was courteous and showed us all the amenities of our room. He even made a special trip for ice for us. The furnishings in our suite were beautiful, everything was very clean. We ate dinner and breakfast twice in the dining room, great service and the meals were top notch. We can not say anything bad about this elegant resort. We will return again some time for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

We just returned from a one night "anniversary" get away. While the staff was very friendly and nice, we were immeadiately struck by the out dated carpet in the entry way and out dated furniture in the suites kitchen and living areas. We also found one of the coffee mugs with lip stick on it. (probably left by a previous guest, but should have been caught by cleaning staff). The suite was good sized, but the window (giving us a view of the lake for which we paid extra) was small and not very clean. Dinner was good but not exceptional. The Sunday bruch was very nice - best part of the experience by far. We would not stay here again primarily because we felt it was over priced and not deserving of the "4 star" rating promoted on the web site. We mentioned our concerns upon checking out and were given a simple apology which we took as an "oh well" type response.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Geneva on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva on the Lake

Address: 1001 Lochland Rd., Rte. 14s, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Geneva on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva On The Lake Hotel Geneva
On The Lake Geneva
On The Lake Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geneva on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.