We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bustling place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Dove Tavern

The Red Dove Tavern
30 Castle St, Geneva, NY 14456-2608
315-781-2020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“bustling place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

went on a friday nite early. lively happy hour crowd. can get noisy. servers were very friendly if not a tad overworked, the duck wings, pork shank and steak were good.nice selection of wine and craft beer on tap.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    52
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu meets a wide variety of needs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

With a group that included vegetarians, a high protein diet friend, & friends that love international cuisine, we all found something to love at the Red Dove. the food was delicious & the atmosphere fun. We'll be back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Downtown alternative”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I had heard good things about this restaurant so decided to try. We were dissapointed and probably would not return. The food was mediocre and the ambiance was not appealing. Quite a few college students were there. Prices were not cheap for the portion of food ordered. No salads, no bread or anything extra was given with the meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very small and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The place is excellent and the menu changes constantly - always fresh and local. It is small and when then run out of an entree it comes right off the blackboard - you can see your mouth watering selection disappear before your eyes. You just have to be ready to try something else. I read a previous comment where the person found this as a negative - it is just the way it is and Saturday nights are famous for having entrees disappear. They have wine on tap from the local area and a great selection of other wines that changes weekly. The beers on tap are all selected from small breweries mostly in the area as well. My fear is that everyone will rush here and I will be left out in cold looking for a great place to eat on a Saturday night.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sorry we went there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The "tavern" (a local bar, nothing tavern about it) was recommended by a local who worked at one of the wineries. Called for a reservation, there were 6 of us. They only take them for 6 or more. Wish they won't have had seating. Table was ready, it was right beside the bar, that did not matter. The room is not that large and the acoustics were terrible! The place was full but not packed. It was that loud we couldn't hear our server through out the whole experience. We were there on a Sat. night Oct 20th prime wine season. They were out of
several food items. How can you be out of spinach, hamburger, and several other items you could run to the store for? I dish did not come as ordered. Kale was substituted for broccoli
in the veggie entrée, we had to mention it. There was some excuse menu was not changed. Ok, we should have been told when we ordered. Maybe we don't like kale or we could have considered something else. Arugula salad was tasty if you like a whole bag of arugula. The portion looked like they opened the Dole Salad bag, added a few sliced apples, onion and proscutto. Not enough of the other ingredients to warrant the size.
Fish of the day came skin side up with the cream sauce on top. Why would you serve fish with the skin on? Once you took the skin off the sauce was gone. Tuff Kale served here too. Kale is a very cheap side. Server was not that pleasant, not that attentive. We asked for separate checks from the start. Said no, but they would take 3 credit cards. When it came time to pay that was changed. After discussing that we would tell her how much to put on each card she reluctantly agreed to do it. Somehow she came up with $2 more that the total of the bill? The gratuity was added which we were not told and did not see it in writing. I do not have a
problem with this so long as its warrantied. She knew she was getting her tip so why not make it a pleasant experience for us.
We will not go back. I see other reviews and wish I would have read them first. Surprised how many great reviews verses bad ones. You decide for yourself. Prices are reasonable so if you can live with the rest go for it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Dove Tavern also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Red Dove Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Dove Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.