We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Geneva

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Geneva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Geneva
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Lake Street, Geneva, NY 14456   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Geneva
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Outdated hotel, poor location,slow wifi,slow elevator ,no fridge in the room, the only positive side was the staff.... Nice and helpful, for the same price go to the lake front ramada inn.... A lot nicer (new) with a nice lake view and has a restaurant and bar.... The hampton inn is a 5/10. The ramada inn a 9/10.... I took a walk to the Ramada inn, i know Would never stay ther again because i would go at the ramada lake front

Room Tip: No restaurant on location,no bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I am sorry to hear that our Hampton Inn didn’t meet your needs. We are pleased to announce that we are finishing our lobby project that will better serve our guests. In the future if you do visit our hotel please ask for a refrigerator as some of our rooms do have them based on availability. Thank you for our comments I will be sure to share them with our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    76
    43
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
86
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boxford, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Last minute visit to Hobart and William Smith during re-union weekend. A little put off by proximity to train tracks but just turned on the fan in heating/cooling unit and heard NOTHING all night long- not even doors closing or conversation in hallway. It has the basics - really all that you need. Hotel is not a destination in itself but rather a comfortable place to sleep. Stone's throw to lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I am glad to hear that you were able to attend your College Reunion. Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We really do have a beautiful location being near Seneca Lake. Be sure to stay with us again when you visit Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, US
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

First off the location is beautiful! It's right across the street from the water, our room overlooked the water. The hotel itself is nothing special, just average decor and rooms. The rooms were clean and we didn't have any issues with noise. The breakfast was good, but the breakfast area was very small. If you are just looking for a decent clean place to lay your head, then this is a good option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our Hampton Inn. We are pleased to announce that we are finishing our final stages on our lobby and have additional seating now available. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Hot on the House Breakfast. We look forward to your future visits to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRING VALLEY
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

First time I was able to book this Hampton Inn. Room was smallish but well appointed. Walk-in shower was grreat although the shower head was unreachable. Some of the reports about trains making noise all night had me worried, but I experienced none of that except for the occassional whistle; which I found kind of nostalgic. The hotel is central to everything in Geneva.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing you experience at our Hampton Inn. We will be sure to pass on the information regarding the shower to our Maintenance Department. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First, the staff is wonderful. So knowledgeable about the area, friendly and helpful. The cookies and lemonaid where wonderful. The hotel is surrounded by train tracks, but we didn't hear a thing at night, and had a wonderful stay. It is across the street from the lake. Also, Nonnis' is right across the tracks - great to be able to walk to dinner. One night we order pizza from ciccino's - and it was so delicious. We had a wonderful stay. Room 208 was a great choice. Refrigerator and microwave - king size bed. Double wide shower - no un-needed bathtub. Great heated indoor pool and hot tub. Great Breakfast. We were very happy with our stay. Oh, and the cookies were wonderful!

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor. We didn't experience any negative issues. But you do have a slight v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed many of the things that Geneva has to offer. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. I have shared your comments with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Geneva when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The staff was friendly and accommodating. Very clean hotel. Great location for the wineries. They provided Wegman's donuts for breakfast too! Allowed late check out. There is actually a winery right next door!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are very fortunate to have a new Wine Tasting Room next door that our guests can enjoy. Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton Inn Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Quiet and polite hotel located at the head of Seneca Lake in the Finger Lakes of New York State. The city is Geneva NY, a fine little college town with country like amenities and atmosphere. It's also an easy place to find just off the NY State Throughway - but far enough away from that highway, about a ten minute drive, that there is no noise or highway presence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very excited to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as our beautiful Finger Lakes Region. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our entire team. Again, thank you and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Geneva

Address: 43 Lake Street, Geneva, NY 14456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Geneva 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Geneva's newest hotel. Located in the heart of the newly rejuvinated City of Geneva on Seneca Lake. Enjoy 55 clean and comfortable guestrooms with excellent service. Closely located to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, wineries, museums and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Geneva Hotel Geneva
Geneva Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.