We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ports Cafe

Ports Cafe
4432 West Lake Rd, Route 14, Geneva, NY 14456
+1 315-789-2020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Reservations Recommended. Maximum group is 8.
Scranton, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had reservations for Ports Cafe with my 2 daughters and were seated promtly upon our arrival. Kim, our server, was a delight! She was so pleasant and patient explaining to the specials (of which there are MANY) the wines and the desserts. I had 1 of the fish specials which was so fresh and cleaned my plate. One of my daughters had steak, which she loved and I can't remember what the other one had but we were all pleased with our choices. The recommended wines were also very good. Dessert was peach cobbler for me with their homemade ice cream and the girls had something chocolate which they declared the best they've ever had! Ports is a little loud but after awhile we just enjoyed our conversation and didn't give it a 2nd thought. We will return!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    66
    26
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant from our honeymoon on Seneca Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed on Seneca Lake for a week for our honeymoon and had the chance to visit several wonderful restaurants during our stay. After each restaurant we visited, we always found ourselves comparing the experience to our experience at Ports. It was a wonderful experience.

The service was great and the atmosphere was nice. It's not the most romantic restaurant you'll find along Seneca Lake, but it has a close-knit, family-like atmosphere where everyone is smiling and having a good time.

The food was the best we had during our honeymoon. The menu changes each day and their list of specials was longer than the actual menu itself. The food is fresh and the flavors are bold and delicious.

It is rather small so I would highly recommend reservations as they are only open for dinner. If you're going to Seneca Lake, you need to have Ports on your list of places to visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Port cafe is a must stop on your trip to the great lakes. We usually eat at restaurants attached to local wineriers. However, based on prior reviews, we chose to try Ports Cafe. We were glad we did. We had the best meal of the trip and it was the cheapest.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenhartsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

this place is amazing, may not look like alot from the outside but the inside and food are to die for. You gotta call early ( up to 2 weeks in advance) for reservations. This is a must try if your in the area

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Many specials the night we had dinner. Too many to remember so we had a list. The food and service was fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports Cafe also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ports Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.