We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs in the bed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   473 Hamilton Street, Routes 5 and 20, Geneva, NY 14456 (Formerly Chanticleer Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Geneva
New Jersey
1 review
“Bugs in the bed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a reservation for one room one night in June 2014. When we arrived, there was no record of our reservation in the hotel's computer. I showed the desk employee my confirmation email, and was told that some reservations had been lost in a computer glitch, but they thought all of them had been recovered (apparently not). The room we had reserved was unavailable, but the hotel manager took us over to the "apartment", which had three bedrooms (2 queen, 1 king), and a bathroom. The place was cooking at about 85 degrees (the manager ran around turning on all of the 1970s-era wall-unit air conditioners), the finishes were not in good shape (broken moulding, missing grout and caulk in the shower, ugly spray foam around the air conditioners, etc.). Most importantly, in two of the three beds the sheets had stains and there were bugs in the bed - not bed bugs, but bigger bugs, some with wings, that you might expect to see while camping or taking a hike in the woods, not in a hotel bed. There was also a cigarette burn hole in one of the comforters and candy wrappers under one of the beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    10
    11
    57
See reviews for
18
24
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked at the last minute and this was the only place we could find a room. Our reservation stated we had a balcony....there are no balconys. The couple who greeted us were not very friendly....this should have been an inclination of what to expect. The hallways have a horrible odor....the rooms have a slight more pleasant smell. The continental breakfast is never refreshed once put out. There is warm milk for the cereal and the cream cheese for the one bagel there looked well used. Not a pleasant stay at all. The bed is made everyday but that is as far as the cleaning went.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Myself and friend are on a road trip and had booked a stay at this hotel. We checked in and the girl at the front desk was nice. She gave us our room and we parked our motorcycles and started to unload our bags into the room. The first thing I noticed was the door had been Jimmied, and it didn't lock. There was about 1/2 inch play in the door. All u needed to do was lean on the door hard enough and it would open.(looked like it was kicked in!) we went back to the front desk and asked if we could change rooms and stated why. She changed our room and said she was sorry. We get into the next room, it was ok at best. I don't know if they have a cleaning service or not but if they do they must be very short. The top of the tv Cabinet had a thick layer of dust and the blinds in the bath room looked like they haven't been wiped down since they were hung. Other than that, the beds were ok and the floor seemed clean. The continental breakfast that is included was not good. The apple juice was water with a very hint of Apple and the orange juice was also watered down. The cereal was what looked like broken up corn flakes some fruit and pancake batter to make your own pancakes. A drive somewhere else would have been a better choice. I have recently seen the other reviews, and management responses. My opinion is that this American Best Value is over priced for what you get. This could be a better hotel if it was taken care of and maintained better than it is. This hotel is in a good location to stores, restaurants and the finger Lakes. Hope they put some money into it and fix it up.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for parents weekend at HWS in 2013. My son was a freshman and everything in town was already booked so I took a chance. Worst decision I ever made. The room was filthy. I was afraid to step on the rug without shoes because it was so dirty. The sheets were dirty. There was a pullout couch which we wanted to use but it was too disgusting. The bathroom floor was dirty with hair in the corners. The room smelled musty and there were very visible cobwebs everywhere. The hallways were filthy as well. The beds were sagging and clearly very old. The bed comorter was scary since it smelled like it had never been washed. I complained at the front desk about the cleanliness and was told that the room had been cleaned. I have stayed at many low budget motels but never one this bad. The price for parents weekend at this hotel was $125 per night but their outside sign said $29. This is a $29 motel which takes advantage of HWS freshman parents. True all motels raise their rates during parent's weekend but don't be tempted here. Drive the extra miles to get another motel outside the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The room smelled musty, the bathroom was not clean, paint peeling from the tub. Staff was rude at check in, there was no Continental Breakfast although the site said there was and then I got home to find that my debit card was charged twice!! Next time I'll spend the extra $20-30 a night somewhere else. This is a prime example of you get what you paid for. Terrible stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott,New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I reserved a room online. The room was damp and musty with several large dead bugs on the floor. An added surprise was the large amount of hair I located when I pulled the sheets back. Left and got a refund. The hotel and room reminded me of where a "working girl" may bring a customer.

Room Tip: Drive right past this Bates Motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvigeneva, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel, we are working very hard to improve and update our property for all guests to enjoy. Since you have been here, we have corrected the ventilation problem which caused condensation in the rooms creating the "musty smell. We have painted all rooms, all bathrooms, regrouted all tiles and new sinks and toilets. We are presently ordering new bedding for this coming season and we are very proud of how everything is coming along. We are also going to repaint the entire exterior and have been working hard updating our lobby. We do hope you come back and see the change! We look forward to a new beginning and a success in our community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I reserved two rooms online. They only had a reservation for one room when I showed up, so our rooms weren't adjacent. One of the rooms smelled strongly of stale smoke, despite prominent non-smoking signs on the door.

Beds were satisfactory. We had refrigerators. Old-school tube TVs. Everything was neat and tidy.

There is a continental breakfast, but it was maybe the worst of the continental breakfasts I've seen. However, for the price of the room, ignore the breakfast and walk across the parking lot to the Dunkin Donuts.

Room Tip: All rooms are outside. I'd suggest a 2nd floor room to cut down on foot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvigeneva, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property, we have been working very hard to make this a comfortable, clean and quality hotel for our guests. Since you have been here, we have decided to make all smoking rooms in the same section, to avoid any smoke entering a non-smoking room. We have also painted the entire room, we're picking out our new bedding and working on the exterior this Spring. This hotel is undergoing a complete renovation and we are proud of it. Please come back and see us again, we know you will be pleased with the new look!
Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 473 Hamilton Street, Routes 5 and 20, Geneva, NY 14456 (Formerly Chanticleer Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Geneva
Americas Best Value Inn Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.