We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but good food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eddie O'Briens Grille & Bar

Eddie O'Briens Grille & Bar
92 Seneca Street, Geneva, NY 14456
(315) 789-7999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Arrived around 9 pm on a Sunday evening as a group. It was quiet, but the waitress made us feel welcome. The kitchen staff was short so the waitress apologized while she disappeared to help. A good selection of micro brews. Food was delivered hot. Portion sizes were large and the taste was very good. Caution, with a larger group, you may be subject to a group tip (18 %).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    55
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seriously poor timing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Oh dear! We arrived right in the middle of a bar crawl! It was SO loud. We were told we'd have to wait 45 mins for a table, which wound up being only 20. Bad news - it was a high top IN the bar room. Our party consisted of 3 50-year olds, 3 18-year olds and 1 11-year old. We were hoping to have conversation at dinner. It was impossible. Our waitress was a true champion. She had to fight hard to get to us, and she did - but it certainly took longer to get a drink than any of us would have expected. The food was deliicious! This was an organized bar crawl, so there must have been some warning to management. I wish they had prepared and educated their hostess. The "poor" rating is 99% based on where we were seated. If the hostess had paid any attention to the fact that we were clearly parents with college kids and a younger sibling . . . if she'd given it any thought at all . . . perhaps she would have seated us in the dining room -- which would have made for a more pleasant experience. Will I try Eddie O'Brien's again - SURE - just NOT during a pub crawl.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Reuben Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you love Reuben's like I do - then you've got to head to Eddie O'Brien's - they are amazing. They use real corned beef that's been shredded and wow what a difference from same old sliced lunch meat!!! Love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've been there often and have always been happy with the food and service. The portions are large and the selection is pretty good. The fried pickles are very good and you get quite a lot. The waitstaff is friendly just attentive enough. Will definitely visit often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Menu Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

All types of food to your liking. We had pasta with a house salad......delicious. Very reasonably priced, fast service and great waitresses! Menu short on desserts.....only 1 choice!!
If you don't like a lot of noise, this isn't the place for you as it is a sports bar. TV's on the walls and a great bar area with many different beers and mixed drinks. Overall, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie O'Briens Grille & Bar also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Eddie O'Briens Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddie O'Briens Grille & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.