We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and scenic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle to your Saves list
Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle
4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Serene and scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We love it here!, We stayed in the newer Vinefera Inn this time. The room was spacious with a beautiful lake view, refrigerator, jacuzzi, loveseat, etc. The only con was that our bed was not too comfortable but it was ok. We ate dinner in Stonecutters and my Beef Wek sandwich was amazing!,,,, After dinner we took our drinks outside and sat by the fire pit, talking to another couple, that we just met, for hours. I left my camera out there and didnt discover that it was missing til morning. Someone turned it in and they had it for me! Breakfast was wonderful out on the porch. The staff was great.Love it there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    88
    53
    53
    78
See reviews for
36
282
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

First, stop off in the Wine Tasting Room for a lovely experience of Finger Lakes Riesling, which is extraordinary in this region. (Don't forget to take a bottle back to your room.) Treat yourselves to a visit at the spa; my husband loved the neck and shoulder massage; I preferred a foot massage and pedicure. Afterwards, dress up and have dinner at Edgar's and experience a step back in time. Pick up a copy of the castle’s history (you’ll be surprised at how naughty it was). The Cuisine is superb and the staff accommodating. The filet mignon was buttery and cooked to perfection. We strolled along the waterfront after dinner and sat on the patio watching the lighted boats troll across the lake. Before bed, we sunk into the in-room whirlpool, drank that bottle of wine, and nibbled on the chocolate castles that were left on our pillows. The morning coffee in-room was sublime. Magnificent if quiet relaxation is what you're after.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is an absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and were to have a romantic getaway, but it ended up being a stay full of regrets. We stayed in the "Bronze Room", which I had been assured was one of the nicest rooms in the original Castle portion of the hotel. When we walked into the room and looked around, disappointment began. The condition of furniture, which was "period" for the most part, was shabby. Even the bronze fireplace, had a mirror that my husband noticed needed cleaning (it was all streaked where someone may have just wiped a cloth across. Windex would have made all of the difference!). The windows were so dirty inside and out that it really affected what should have been a beautiful view of Seneca Lake. The other furniture in the room was also in need of cleaning and/or repair, with broken or poorly repaired areas very visible. One of the biggest concerns even involved health issues, when what appeared to be black mold was noticed in the air conditioner vents where the cool air blew into our room. Also, the air conditioner was so loud, even ear plugs couldn't drown out the noise. We attempted to decrease the fan speed in the hope of decreasing the noise, but you could not adjust the fan speed, it did not respond to our attempts to adjust with the controls. What should have been a beautiful romantic getaway, became a night of apologizing to my husband. If we return to the Geneva area, we will choose another hotel. I did leave a comment card mentioning a couple of these concerns. The lodging manager did call me around 4:30 pm, and after she checked the Bronze Room, she said she was already addressing the issues she found (mentioning the air conditioner had been replace by the time of her call, and telling me the windows were already scheduled to be cleaned on the outside). She also did offer some compensation for our very unsatisfactory stay. Although she did apologize, and I believe she did feel bad that so many problems were found in 1 room, even Things that should have been a part of regular routine cleaning, I would still choose another hotel in the future.

Room Tip: View the room before making a reservation. Don't rely on their web site pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Peaceful location at the north of Seneca Lake, with expansive views and light. Rooms are large and well furnished, with small refrigerator to chill purchases from local wineries. Great dining options on site with extensive Finger Lakes wines.

Room Tip: Best to stay in the new section. all of which have views over Seneca Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our 3 rd stay. Everything was wonderful as always. The experience is enhanced by wonderful, helpful staff. After the visit, we had left a book behind. Phoned when we arrived home and were told nothing had turned up. A week later book had been found. We asked if they could mail it to us. No problem they answered. Arrived a week later. They had mailed it tut us first class with international postage affixed. How wonderful. See you soon

Room Tip: Book early get a room facing lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great lunch and very reasonably priced. Right by Seneca Lake and offers amazing views. Beautiful homes around the area. Excellent service at the restaurant and great food, highly recommend their salads. Worth the drive!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

As we arrived, we were met with great hospitality from staff. In fact the staff really made our 2 night stay in the "carriage house" memorable. The Castle is a marvel..... Really well maintained and the grounds spectacular. The wine "spigot" on the second floor is a nice touch but each room should be supplied with a 1/2 bottle carafe for there guests use.
The dinner we had in Edgers dinning room was less that expected. No presentation on the plate and just so-so taste. Good have been much better. The other restaurant, Stonecutters, is more casual and has a good menu of mostly sandwich style mains. One must try is the "Tenderloin Tip Fondue". It is billed as an appetizer but can easily make due for a main. Fantastic and reasonable cost. All in all a great time spent at this fine establishment. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Any room will be nice. The Ice House and the Carriage house are away from the main castle, very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle

Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.