We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretour for a Group Trip in September 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle to your Saves list
Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle
4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretour for a Group Trip in September 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Belhurst Castle is located by Seneca Lake, NY. We enjoyed the beautiful view overlooking the lake from our window. A lovely restaurant is located within the castle. Sit by the fire burning in the firepit on the patio also by the lake. The wine tasting was a nice experience. We're looking forward to our return trip with friends.

.

Room Tip: The rear rooms have the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    88
    53
    53
    78
See reviews for
36
282
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

First, the hotel has terrible lighting at night to find your room on the grounds. And, no map. We stayed in the carriage house, which was terrible. If you do not want a breakfast buffet, you have no other options.

Room Tip: Do not rent the carriage house. It was terrible. It was a throwback to the 80's, nothing romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights recently at the Belhurst. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel. The whole place seemed a little tired, bare minimum in upkeep. The staff were all very nice, no complaints there. We ate dinner in both the restaurants, nothing outstanding, could have been what we ordered. The buffet breakfast is great value. The property itself is lovely. Don't know that I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the Vinifera Inn section of this hotel. Our room was wonderful. NIce fireplace and Jacuzzi tub, and a beautiful view of the lake. The sunrises were breathtaking against to autumn colors.. The entire staff was very friendly and accomodating. Anything we ask for, we recieved. There are 2 places for dining. Edgars, which is more fancy and fine dining. And Stonecutters, which is more tavern/pub style. We ate at both places and enjoyed each one very much. I also had a wonderful massage in the Isabella Spa. Colleen was excellent! We will return to this location for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms in the Vinifera section have lake views, fireplaces, and Jacuzzi tubs. The rooms in The Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was worried when I made the reservation after reading the reviews on here but it was a perfect location for where we would be on this trip around the Finger Lakes. About half of you hated it and half of you loved it. We didn't experience the staff problems some of you suggest. Check in was fast and curtious, we ate at Stone Cutters and the hostess and waiter were good. On our way out we were carrying a small cooler and staff from the dining room came up to us in the lobby and asked if we would like some ice. I thought that a lot different then most hotels that demand you don't fill coolers with their ice.
As far as a downside it would be room maintaince. The room was clean as far as what the housekeepers would do on a daily basis but the next stap up could use some attention. The room was nice, butlers quarters, 107 I think. There was no problem with cleanliness or comfort but things like cobwebs between the window and storm window which a housekeeper couldn't reach and dull woodwork which was in desperate need of some furniture polish. I could go through and pick out bad things at anywhere I've been or could pick out just the best things.
After staying there I see that these reviews have done just that. I can't imagine anyones stay being just all bad.
One thing they don't mention at the desk is that there is a wime spigot on the 2nd floor where you help yourself. We were told about it by a gentleman at a local winery so we knew what it was when we seen it.
Most low rated reviews on here complain about the quality for the price. I think if they had only paid 50 bucks a night they would have loved the place. It was a little expensive but keep in mind it's a one of a kind place with a fantastic location on the lake and we were there during the high season.
If you're not afraid to part with some of your money, looking for a great location and something different, help yourself to a complimentary glass of wine and give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is in serious need of updating. Formica everywhere and tube televisions in the rooms for $300 a night.....really! Internet exists only in the lobby. The setting on the lake is beautiful however. If your looking for a hotel in the Geneva area stay elsewhere to save some money and avoid this "faux" upscale hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was the best place that my husband and I ever stayed in. I believe that I purchased an overnight stay through Groupon. The room we stayed in had a firplace and our own jacuzzi with a queen size bed. We found chocolates on our bed pillow when we arrived. The stay included a free wine tasting in their gift shop and also $100 towards dinner in their restaurant. The food was delicious, as was the wine. The groupon only cost $200.00. We are hoping to go back this year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle

Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.