We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I finally treated myself to an hour massage session @ Isabella spa in the Belhurst.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle to your Saves list
Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle
4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456   |  
Hotel amenities
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I finally treated myself to an hour massage session @ Isabella spa in the Belhurst.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

I've been in Healthcare for 20 years & I have always been the one treating patients. Whenever I'm in the area, I try to stay at one of the Belhurst properties. It's a great spot to get away from the hustle & bustle of the daily grind. I have been traveling alot this year, and the long flights & sitting has taken a toll on my body.
My wife suggested I unwind & get a massage, while we where on this trip. I took her advise, & it was the best thing I've done all year for myself. I couldn't believe how rejuvenated I was! It was the perfect ending to our stay at my favorite spot in the finger lakes

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    88
    53
    53
    78
See reviews for
36
282
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We chose to stay in the castle just for the experience and history. I did not have high expectations after reading some of the reviews. The rooms are certainly showing wear and tear. The bathroom especially, had a lot of cracked tile and needed some work. There was no light over the bathtub, so it was quite dark. Rug was just ok. Small tube tv. Living room area in a serious need of updated furniture.

That being said, it was still a unique experience and neat to be in a room with history. We explored the other levels and looked at all the old pictures. We ate at the hotel's more casual restaurant and it was very good. The wine tasting in the gift shop area was fun as well.

I would definitely come back to this property, but next time I would stay in the newer Vinifera Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend. Our room want as luxurious as we expected, but the bathroom was wonderful and the castle was perfect. Doing the wine your route around the lake it's a must!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We recently stayed in the Vinifera Inn and it was awesome! The Vinifera is attached to and part of the Belhurst. But it is brand new. We were in a party of 12 and everyone else was in the older Belhurst side of the hotel. After taking a tour and visiting all the 6 rooms we had, let's just say I am glad we were in the newer part. None of their rooms had a view or a fireplace or a jacuzzi.

What made the Vinifera so cool is the room is actually very big - it is like the space of two rooms. Plus there is a gas fireplace which you simply turn on. That was very romantic. Also there is a view of lake Seneca out this huge picture window. Very cool.

The other great thing is there is a jacuzzi in the corner of the room. We used the jacuzzi in the evening and then again in the morning before checking out. You simply fill it with hot water and this took about 10 minutes to do so.

With the extra large room, the fireplace, the jacuzzi and the lake view, this was the best room I have ever stayed in. Period. And I have stayed in a lot of hotel rooms!

You pay a little more for the Vinifera rooms but it is worth it.

We highly recommend the Vinifera.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo/Niagara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Visited the Belhurst Castle for the first time for a Birthday getaway. Was very pleased with the accommodations in the new addition to the property and the excellent service in the hotel, restaurant, and spa. The room has great attention to detail and everything you'd want is provided. Being massaged through a birthday is an outstanding way to go. We stay in the Finger Lakes region often, and were surprised this place wasn't on our radar before. It is now and we'd love to come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Had sucha wounderful time here and loved how spoiled we all felt, great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Belhurst for many years. It is the one place that we always go for our special celebratons, and well worth the drive from Canada. We have seen many changes in the castle over the years, but some things never change. The castle itself is so beautiful and romantic, and the service is always top-notch, so when we're there we feel a bit like royalty. We enjoy antiquing, and always find lots to do in the area. The meals at Edgars are very well prepared, and the buffets and prix-fixe dinners are a good value considering the quality of the food. However, we do miss the free continental breakfast we used to get when staying as overnight guests. I also hope that someday they'll install automatic doors where you come in. I figure if I'm struggling with the doors and my luggage, how much more difficult it would be for someone who's elderly or disabled or travelling with kids? All in all, the castle is still our favourite destination, and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle

Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belhurst - Chambers in the Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.