We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Historic Site with added bonus! LOL.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Route 96A, Geneva, NY
+1 315-789-3848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Geneva
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a taste of life on a 19th-century estate when you visit this National Historic Landmark. Once a working farm, the house and surrounding grounds are now open seasonally for guided tours. Built in 1839, the elegant Greek Revival house was the center of a busy and productive farm by mid-century. Much of the tour focuses on the Swan family, in residence from 1850 to 1890. Through family letters, photographs, and diaries, explore the family's joys and sorrows and their interactions with neighbors and the many workers required to keep the large house and farm in working order. Trained as a merchant, discover how Robert Swan combined business methods of organization with scientific innovations like drain tile to make his farm more productive and profitable. See twenty rooms restored and furnished in the Empire style, popular from the 1820s to 1850s. Enjoy the magnificent view of Seneca Lake from the front porch and the vista of nearby farmlands.Rose Hill Mansion Gift Shop features a selection of locally produced food products, historically themed gifts and hand crafted items. Be sure to visit the tasting room Billsboro Winery operates on site.Open May 1 to October 31. Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-4pm; Sunday, 1-5pm. Closed Mondays.
Oswego, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a Great Historic Site with added bonus! LOL.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were looking for local history in the Geneva area while we enjoyed Geneva on the Lakes' amentities.

Rose Manor is a wonderful museum with a far-above average docent who knew much about the site. When she wasn't sure, she said so, but might suggest a possible answer that was era appropriate. We thought this was wonderful as we are fairly knowledgeable history buffs ourselves.

The bonus: a well-stocked gift shoppe with local artisan products.

ALSO, a vineyard had a 'tasting room,' just outside the gift shoppe doors. IF you visited the museum, you got a $3.00 discount on the purchase, as well as if you purchased in volume, you got ANOTHER discount. VERY nice! :0)

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfuls historic site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Visited on a trip to the Finger Lakes and had a very informative 1hour tour. Our guide was very enthusiastic and knew so much about the history and the people who had lived there. Fantastic tour and inexpensive too. So glad we stopped here!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No one home”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We made a special point to travel to Rose Hill Mansion. When we arrived it was closed. It was 1 pm and they were supposed to be open. It is in a beautiful location and well maintained, but, we never saw more than the outer part.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseHillGeneva, Public Relations Manager at Rose Hill Mansion, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I am sorry you were unable to tour the house. Did you come on a Monday? We are closed on Mondays and that may have been the problem, otherwise we staff should have been there. Perhaps if you are in the area again you will be able to return.
Anne Dealy
Director of Education and Public Information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Interesting House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

House is furnished in period and the guide was very good.
Reasonable entrance fee for the 55min tour

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rose Hill is well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our docent, Carole, was well versed, interesting, and ready to address questions. The property is well maintained with some original pieces, and the decor is well researched and authentic to the period portrayed. The historical information is enlightening, and it encompasses more than one family. The gift shop is better than those found in many historic venues, the selection is unique, and the prices are quite reasonable. Though there are always improvements needed at historic house museums, this property is lovingly maintained. The details in the woodwork (interior and exterior) are particularly interesting and resonate the history and agriculture in a unique way.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseHillGeneva, Public Relations Manager at Rose Hill Mansion, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review and we are very glad you enjoyed your visit with Carole--our docents are our best assets!
Anne Dealy, Director of Education and Public Information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Hill Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.