We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The William Smith Inn

The William Smith Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The William Smith Inn
Save
You added The William Smith Inn to your Saves list
600 Castle Street, Geneva, NY 14456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Geneva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, Ontario
1 review
“Wonderful Place !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed here September 2009. 7,000 Square foot home, gorgeous hardwood floors throughout, freshly painted, new furnishings and A1 clean. Inn keepers are intimately attached to the area and more than graciously made us feel welcome. The William Smith Suite was beautiful, with two queen beds it easily accommodated 4 of us. It was a first B&B experience for the young adults travelling with us and I think Theresa has managed to inspire them to try others. – KB Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
55
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The place was beautiful and each room had character. The host, Theresa and Dave, were gracious and friendly. The bed was so comfortable and we felt like we were home. Breakfast was wonderful as Theresa puts such love and personality in each dish that she would bring out. She also shared her tips on where to get great groceries. It was like visiting good friends on the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Kingdom VT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We have been going to Geneva for 7+years (HWS students). We drove through a bad rain storm for 8+ hrs. Called and asked if it would be to late and the gracious hostess said no to come on in when we got to town. We have NEVER had a good nite sleep at any of our Geneva NY experiences, and we have tried many over the past 7+yrs. This B&B has recently opened, so we decided to give it a try. Location is great for HWS parents. The history is also. We walked into the room and could not believe how beautiful,warm,CLEAN and inviting it was, from what I could see the ceilings must be at least 12 feet high. When we got into bed we knew we would be back. Theresa and Richard did not cut corners in any way when revitalizing this beautiful old structure.
We were so happy with a great nite sleep, and then a first rate breakfast. All local products as much as she can find and beautiful presentation. Our first breakfast was in the warm elegant dining room and the next morning on the porch that rounds the left front and side of the house. Glad I had the foresight to book "parents week-end". We are so looking forward to another stay. They truely up the scale of places to stay in Geneva. Thank You Theresa and Richard.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My boyfriend and I were looking for a place in Geneva to stay for the weekend to tour the wineries. By accident I stumbled on The William Smith Inn. It had just opened, didn’t have many reviews so I was very spectacle. I had never stayed at a B&B and didn’t know what to expect, my boyfriend on the other hand has, didn’t have a good experience and was not looking forward to it but being that this was a very last minute trip and we couldn’t really find anything else we figured we would give it a shot. The Inn had exceeded our expectations in more ways than one. First the house itself was beautiful; it has a romantic Victorian feel to it. Everything was fresh and clean, very tidy. Our gracious inn keepers provided us with a top notch breakfast every morning, provided us with information about the area, and gave us their opinions on what we can check out. I am planning on staying there again for a family weekend and would go back there again with my boyfriend. I would recommend anyone from just friends going away for the weekend, to a family getaway, to staying there with your significant other. I had an amazing experience there and would go back there any time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicagogal121
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

My daughter and I came to visit HWS on a grand tour of colleges and this was by far the best night of sleep in spacious rooms with beautiful furnishings in a updated palette of colors and design. Very tastefully furnished from bedding to window treatments to the private bathrooms. And breakfast hit the spot with fresh fruit, yogurt and awesome toasted breads. Theresa is also one of the friendliest people you'll ever meet!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The William Smith Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Smith Inn

Address: 600 Castle Street, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Smith Inn opened its doors in June 2009. William Smith was a philanthropist, astronomer, spiritualist and nurseryman. Your hosts, David & Theresa Gage, have restored this home to its former glory for your comfort and pleasure. This Italianate home, built in 1873, features quarter-cut white oak floors with black walnut inlay, monstrous chestnut doors, floor-to-ceiling windows and incredibly detailed molding. The home is situated on 3.2 acres in the heart of the Finger Lakes region of New York. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The William Smith Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.