We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bed & Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The William Smith Inn

The William Smith Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The William Smith Inn
Save
You added The William Smith Inn to your Saves list
600 Castle Street, Geneva, NY 14456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Geneva B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Bed & Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The William Smith Inn met our expectations the moment we booked our reservation. However, our expectations were EXCEEDED the moment we arrived and met David and Theresa. These proprietors are the example every innkeeper should meet.
We were met at the property by David and he was very welcoming. He told about the history of The William Smith Inn, William Smith & Hobart Colleges and Geneva as he showed us the home and property.
Our upstairs, Stateman, room was phenomenal. There was absolutely nothing more we could have asked for. The keeping room supplied us with a refridgerator and all the kitchen needs we could imagine for any bottles of wine and blocks of cheese for our evenings on the front porch after a day of winery tours.
The breakfasts were wonderful. There was yogurt, granola, fruit, bagels, quiche, juice, coffee ... pretty much any thing you wanted, Theresa was there to make certain your desires were met.
Theresa is the quintessential hostess. She is there exactly when you think you want something, but she isn't overbearing by being there all the time. Her home is your home. She immediately wants her guests to be comfortable and free to enjoy the WSI. If you think you have met her when you book your room ~~ just wait. She is absolutely PHENOMENAL.
There are so many positive things to say about this inn and the innkeepers. The moment you speak with Theresa you know you are welcome. Once you arrive at The William Smith Inn, you know you are at HOME.
We will never stay anywhere else when we visit the Finger Lakes.

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs Statesman Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
55
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were celebrating my sister's birthday and had been looking forward to this trip for some time. Well, it exceeded all of our expectations. From the moment we arrived at this beautiful B&B, it was magical. Theresa was there to greet us and couldn't have been more helpful. Her recommendations for dinner and other activities were outstanding. The room was great. It's hard to find a great room at a B&B that works for 3 people. The room we stayed in was really 2 bedrooms. It was amazing and so nicely decorated. Breakfast was also delicious and couldn't have been better. Theresa, you made our celebration extra special and I hope to return next year. Thanks again for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I grew up in the Geneva area when the William Smith house was a church retirement home. The current owners have done a beautiful job restoring the house and converting it to a B&B. I was in the area for a family reunion and could not find a decent hotel. My sister suggested the William Smith Inn. I am glad she did. We stayed in one of the 2 ground floor rooms. Each room is configured differently, as you would expect, so talk with Theresa about your needs when you book. Theresa is a wonderful hostess and provides a great breakfast. There is a kitchen with fridge and microwave available for the guests. The porch is lovely and make sure you stroll the grounds.

Room Tip: Let Theresa know your needs. Each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Your experience starts with speaking to one of the nicest people you will ever meet!

Theresa, the Inn Keeper calls everyone personally to make sure you are getting the right room and everything that you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The house itself is simply breath taking! Old charm, with clean fresh additions in this historic home.

My husband and I went to Geneva for the Musselman tri and we highly recommend the Statemen room, which has a claw foot tub that adds tons of charm.

We look forward to returning some time soon and can't stop smiling from such a wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First I have to say that my husband and I usually do not write reviews of places, even if we have a good experience. We found our stay at the William Smith Inn in Geneva, NY to be so great we wanted everyone to know about it. We have never felt more at home in any other establishment, and we have stayed in our fair share of hotels. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the Inn keeper (Theresa) in an extremely friendly manner. She gave us a tour of the house and helped guide us in the right direction of where to go for dinner and drinks. Theresa was very knowledgeable of the good and not so good establishments in the area. Not to mention it is located in a great spot, not a minute from town. The breakfast that was served in the morning was phenomenal and we again were steered in the right direction as to where to go on our wine tour. We are already trying to plan when we can go back and also can't wait to bring family and friends! We will be recommending everyone who will be in the area to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great Home, Great Location, Great Hosts. We will be back, very nice area.
Great Home, Great Location, Great Hosts. We will be back, very nice area.
Great Home, Great Location, Great Hosts. We will be back, very nice area.
Great Home, Great Location, Great Hosts. We will be back, very nice area.

Room Tip: It's all Good. Thank You Theresa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

On a recent trip to visit Hobart with our son, we had the opportunity to stay at the William Smith Inn. The accommodations were beautiful and the innkeepers delightful. It is clear that they take alot of TLC to ensure the property is perfect and their guests have a delightful stay. We hope our son picks Hobart so we can stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The William Smith Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Smith Inn

Address: 600 Castle Street, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Smith Inn opened its doors in June 2009. William Smith was a philanthropist, astronomer, spiritualist and nurseryman. Your hosts, David & Theresa Gage, have restored this home to its former glory for your comfort and pleasure. This Italianate home, built in 1873, features quarter-cut white oak floors with black walnut inlay, monstrous chestnut doors, floor-to-ceiling windows and incredibly detailed molding. The home is situated on 3.2 acres in the heart of the Finger Lakes region of New York. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The William Smith Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.