We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and food were great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halsey's

Halsey's
106 Seneca Street, Geneva, NY 14456
315 789 4070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service and food were great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The waiter/waitresses were fun. Everything from the bread to the piiza and burgers were great. My prickly pear margarita was sooo good. Prices were right also. Very nice place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    46
    14
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Another Good Value in Dining near Seneca Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and another couple had the pleasure of dining at Halsey's after a private wine tasting at a new winery on Seneca Lake. The vintner recommended the restaurant. A short ride from the Vineyard brought us to this classy little gem in Geneva NY.
Very tastefully appointed with an ambiance that one would expect at a more expensive establishment. Service was friendly attentive and enhanced by the wait staff's knowledge and description of the wonderful food and wines to compliment the various offerings.
A superb Ceasar Salad, Wood fired Vegetable Lasagna, Spicy Pollo wood fired pizza with a perfect crispy thin crust, a Keuka Lake Riesling. Everything was fresh, well prepared and delicious!
The bill, surprisingly easy on our wallet for the quality we experienced.
We will return as our waitress requested so politely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fancy pizza oven but not so fancy pizza.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It has been a couple of years since our first visit to Halsey's. Unfortunately this will likely be our last. The pizza was underwhelming to say the least. The cheese made it on one side and the topics fell of when you picked up a slice. The dough was dried out and burned in many spots. The tomatoes where charred almost beyond recognition. For a place that appears to specialize in pizza the have sure missed the mark. Our waitress who was quite pleasant managed to remove the cost of the pizza from our check. My appetizer of squash flowers was fair but was served about 10 minutes prior to the rest of the table's pizza order. We do not plan to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice during our 3 night stay in Geneva.
The staff were amazingly friendly and offered good menu advice. I have special dietary needs which were catered for perfectly which meant that I could relax and enjoy my meal without worries. The quality of the food was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Recommend this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We could have paid more elsewhere. Glad we didn't. Our meals were excellent and right in line with quality vs. price, at least in the region this is located.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halsey's also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Halsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halsey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.