We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belhurst

Belhurst
4069 West Lake Road, Geneva, NY 14456
315-781-0201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 70 Restaurants in Geneva
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Trumansburg, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Having known people who have stayed, and eaten, and raved, we went for brunch.What a let down! Great location. Service -good. Food-not worth the calories! The assortment was OK, but the execution was poor. Roast beef-tough, carrot cake-dry, sausage-OK,but nothing special. The bacon could not have been less done if it had been boiled. Wilted spinach salad-good. Scrambled eggs-OK. Fruit-who could mess up fruit? We expected-amazing, we didn't get it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    19
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Such a nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We didnt think we would be allowed to eat breakfast at Bellhurst but we gave it a try and we were so glad we did. What a bargain! Breakfast buffet was great and for dessert, our waitress brought us 2 chocolate covered strawberries. All for $9.95. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Belhurst Castle Geneva, NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Belhurst is absolutely Beautiful!! On our recent motorcycle trip with friends to the Finger Lakes, NY, our last day together was breakfast at Belhurst Castle. My husband kept telling me how good the food was, how beautiful the castle was, the grounds & view. He was absolutely correct.

We had a breakfast buffet with amazing food, choose your own omelet and have fresh sliced ham prepared by the chef, or have scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, potatoes, french toast, fresh fruit, breads, danish, juice off the buffet.My eyes were bigger than my stomach.

After we finished eating, we took a walk out on the grounds. The view was absolutely beautiful and the weather perfect. It was a beautiful place to talk with and say our good byes with friends until the next trip together.

If you are in this area, it is well worth the stop. You will not be sorry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To be!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We found this place amazingly beautiful. To eat and stay during the sunset in Belhurst luxuriously Castle and restaurant is unforgettable experience! Food was tasty and exclusive, atmosphere nice and calm, VIEW --TO DIE! One must be there at least ones in a lifetime journey. Next time I will not only enjoy delicious food of Belhurst restaurant, but STAY in The Castle! By the way this place has private excess to the crystal clear Seneca Lake!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay (in the castle part at least). Interesting menu but 'under delivered'.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the castle for one night ( and the newer wing the next). The Castle is fun and I interesting - in particular the free-flowing wine spigot in the hall). The dinners were unfortunately no match. While the menu was interesting and varied the food ultimately did not live up to expectation. Service was attentive, though it was not very busy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belhurst also viewed

 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Belhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belhurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.