We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I lived closer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Tree Inn

Big Tree Inn
46 Main St, P.O. Box 387, Geneseo, NY 14454-1216
585-243-5220
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Geneseo
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I wish I lived closer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

If I lived closer to Geneseo, I'd be back on a regular basis! I had the Quattro lunch (oink, oink...); it was amazing! The corn chowder was rich and full of flavor, the turkey sandwich was delicious, the homemade potato chips were very tasty, and the cookie was very good.

This was my first visit; I'll definitely be back. I may even stay at the inn; it's very cute!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slingerlands, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Historic Inn in the Heart of Geneseo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in during a accepted students visit at SUNY Geneseo. We ate in the tavern as we were not very hungry. You can have the tavern or full menu there. The building is an 1800's inn that has been restored in recent years. We found the overall atmosphere to be very warm and historical and the tavern was quiet and comfortable on a Monday night. The full menu prices are on the expensive side but there was a lot of variety listed. We ate from the tavern menu and our food was well prepared and the service friendly and prompt. They had a good selection of draft beer with various micro-brews. We spent $40 for two including tax and tip. We would return for another visit the next time we are in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“same as others-good food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A very nice and dining experience which allows for casual attire. The food was very good, and I did not think it overpriced. A very good half pound burger for $12 and a lobster mac and cheese for about the same price. Lunch meal for two adults and one child, with beverages, and no appetizer was under $40 before tip. It doesn't sound like much food, but we walked away full. Service left something to be desired-slow and relatively inattentive despite only a handful of patrons at the time. If you can accept the service, the food is worth the stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing pre-valentine dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Due to other commitments we decided to have our Valentine's dinner out the night prior and chose Big Tree Inn. The staff is very friendly and attentive with knowledge of what offer.

After ordering a new wine, the bartender even took the time to come to our table asking how it was. Christine is a real asset to Big Tree Inn. Then I was undecided between 2 of the new chicken dishes but once our waiter heard Chicken Florentine he got genuinely excited and said that was his favorite. He was spot on, excellent choice!

The pub area is warm and cozy offering many seating options. The Big Tree Inn is a good stop for a drink, snack or dinner. They have it all!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norwich, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy but missing some key Thanksgiving items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The food was good but for Thanksgiving they should have raised the price and added more items to their dinner. No Sweet Potatos, corn or Creamed onions.... Maybe a buffet would have worked too? The waittress seemed very stressed out and I think it might have been because of her boss... :( I felt bad for her. All and all a lovely resturant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Tree Inn also viewed

Geneseo, Finger Lakes
Geneseo, Finger Lakes
 
Geneseo, Finger Lakes
Geneseo, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Big Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.