We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Tavern

Village Tavern
137 Center St, Geneseo, NY
585-447-9151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 restaurants in Geneseo
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Gloversville, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stopped on a Saturday night while visiting our daughter at SUNY Geneseo. We had never been here before and when arrived it was quit crowded. The hostess said it would be 40 minutes for a table. We were lucky enough to get three seats at the bar. They have a nice selection of beers on tap. The bar manager(Chris) was very helpful and knew his beers. We had a wonderful time talking with the bartenders and the other patrons at the bar. Tasted several interesting beers. After 15 minutes our table was ready(I almost gave our table away because we were having such a good time at the bar).
Nice selection of food, from salads, pub food and dinners. All three of us enjoyed our meals(taco salad, italian cheeseburger, and chicken french).
If you are in town stop here! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    15
    18
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a very nice local restaurant / tavern that serves very good food and has a very friendly staff. The owner even sat down with me to talk for 15 minutes after I told him how satisfied I was with my meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, ON
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Almost worth the noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was recommended to us by our hotel. We weren't going to be too picky because it was Thanksgiving evening and we weren't sure about finding anywhere else. It was crowded with the stand-ups from the college sampling the over 30 beers on tap. Because of that it was noisy and we had trouble having a conversation. However the staff took good care of us and the burgers were excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Try the Classic Burger. It's good--VERY good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really liked the burger I had. Went with the Village Tavern's "Classic" with cheese, which was their most basic burger--large, thick and very juicy. I ordered it cooked Medium and that's how it was served. It comes with fresh lettuce, tomato and a red onion slice (which I skipped), and a nice piece of cheddar on top. The burger and the bun were so thick and juicy, I enjoyed it without ketchup or anything else--very filling and really good. The burger also came with a side of chips made right on premises, which were warm and nicely salted--much better than ordinary potato chips. Price was reasonable, service was very good--all in all, a good. solid burger plate I highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Sports Bar with Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a nice surprise the Village Tavern is. With televisions on various walls, it easily could have been just another loud sports bar with mediocre food, but no! The Village Tavern has delicious burgers and - shockingly, I know - one of the best New England clam chowders I have ever tasted. The service is excellent and efficient and management is overly friendly. I hear it's great for dinner, too, but I know I wouldn't go anywhere else for lunch next time I'm in Geneseo!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Tavern also viewed

Geneseo, Finger Lakes
Geneseo, Finger Lakes
 
Geneseo, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.