We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Nice Stay at Minnewaska Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Minnewaska Lodge to your Saves list
Minnewaska Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Another Nice Stay at Minnewaska Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We returned to Minneswaska Lodge after enjoying ourselves during a previous stay. There was no availability according to their website, but we telephoned and were able to get a room.

The lodge is located very close to the State Park, about 10 minutes from the Town of New Paltz, and directly across the road from a great German Restaurant. We dined at the Mountain Brauhaus again during this stay, and, again, it was awesome.

The rooms at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable. Nothing fancy, but a really nice place to shower and relax after a day of hiking. The guys at the front desk were very friendly, and helpful. No real complaints about anything. Oh yeah, I really enjoyed the quiche at breakfast.

This place is a little pricey, but its worth paying a little extra for a clean and comfortable lodge in a great location. We'll be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MilesMereV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good lodge, great service, cliff room with balcony was nice. Great advice for activities in the area. Breakfast is good fuel, but nothing more. Not enough seating for all guests. Also, our bed was very soft - not great if you have a bad back. Still come here though.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from Minnewaska Lodge and I can now comfirm that the other reviews are correct. Breakfast was great and having coffee, tea, and cookies available at all times was a definite plus. We roasted marshmallows over the firepit in the evening and made smores. Staff was great. Other things to note about the location....Mountain store and bistro next door. Across the street from the Mountain Brauhaus with great pumpernickel bread. Half a mile from the Mohonk Preserve visitor center and Trailheads. Overall, an excellent choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This lodge is not related to the orginal Minnewaska Lodge that burned down up in the State park. It has the same name but no other connection. We really liked the property. Comfortable beds. Windows that open for fresh air, really nice mission style furniture. The best feature was the outside gas fire pits. Nice to sit around the fire after dinner. We ate at the Mountain Brauhaus which is right across the street from the Lodge. Fantastic German food and beer. They don't take reservations so be patient its worth the wait. Friendly staff and decent continental breakfast. Great choice for folks that are going hiking or bikiing in that area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the mountain side have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Minnewaska lodge is in a picturesque setting, quiet and beautiful. It is nearby to various attractions (and there is a lot to do and see in this general area). The room was comfortable and very clean with a spectacular mountain view in the rear of the lodge. We saw deer roaming in the back yard a couple of times. The breakfasts offered a wide variety of healthy options and delicious homemade breads, and we ate dinner at three fabulous restaurants just minutes away. We found our stay there to be highly enjoyable. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chas575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What an amazing place. Absolutely beautiful. Simple mission style lodge on the face of a mountain is just what we needed for a little getaway. Isolated and tranquil without being too far from restaurants and things to do. Room was great. Nice large bathroom and king bed was soo comfortable! Did not want to leave. Get a room with a view of the mountain! Staff was friendly, helpful, and easy going. This lodge had that cleanly hotel feel with the laid back homie atmosphere of a bed and breakfast. Decore was very zen! Lots of natural light in the whole place. The only reservation I have, is actually telling people about how good it was. I don't want it to be booked up when I want to stay again! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgetways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at Minnewaska for a five-day retreat, and I couldn't have had a better experience. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were always clean and comfortable. You can't ask for a better setting or view than the one out the back deck. I would definitely return to this lodge and plan to recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
10.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
21.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Super 8 Highland
Super 8 Highland
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
14.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Address: 3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing