We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best kept secret until now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Best prices from these 5 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Minnewaska Lodge to your Saves list
Minnewaska Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My best kept secret until now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What an amazing place. Absolutely beautiful. Simple mission style lodge on the face of a mountain is just what we needed for a little getaway. Isolated and tranquil without being too far from restaurants and things to do. Room was great. Nice large bathroom and king bed was soo comfortable! Did not want to leave. Get a room with a view of the mountain! Staff was friendly, helpful, and easy going. This lodge had that cleanly hotel feel with the laid back homie atmosphere of a bed and breakfast. Decore was very zen! Lots of natural light in the whole place. The only reservation I have, is actually telling people about how good it was. I don't want it to be booked up when I want to stay again! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    47
    14
    11
    7
See reviews for
44
102
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at Minnewaska for a five-day retreat, and I couldn't have had a better experience. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were always clean and comfortable. You can't ask for a better setting or view than the one out the back deck. I would definitely return to this lodge and plan to recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spend five days here on a retreat. Loved every second. Staff were brilliant, lodging was superb, and the surroundings are world class. Would definitely stay here again with a group or family.

No need to look any further. Minnewaska is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Enjoyed the setting, the grounds, and the great staff! I would definitely recommend the lodge if you're looking for an off-the-beaten-path setting in the area. Make sure you reserve some time for the lake!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just came back from a business retreat/conference that took over the entire lodge. The lodge was a terrific venue. I have made many trips over the years to the Mohonk Mountain House a few miles away and was familiar with the unique beauty of this area. Looking up at majestic rock cliffs, running on rolling country roads--it is a beautiful area. Here are some of the highlights that made Minnewaska a place I can enthusiastically recommend:

--The cookies: The Lodge had a large glass jar by the front desk filled with home-made pumpkin-chocolate chip cookies that were amazing.
--The staff: They were warm and friendly. They were always asking how things were and whether they could be of help. When I asked for the recipe for the amazing cookies to bring home to my daughter, they not only provided it but also made a package of the cookies for me to bring home.
--The size: It was so nice to be in a place where you could run to your room in 30 seconds to drop something off or pick something up.
--The outdoor space: The lodge has a beautiful back porch and back yard filled with Adirondack chairs. The highlight is two gas fire pits to keep the socializing going into the evening.
--Breakfast: Delicious granola and hard boiled eggs (on ice--a nice touch) were the highlights for me. A delicious spread. I also noted that coffee was out waiting in the lobby very early.
--The rooms: Although not fancy, they were very spacious and very comfortable. Free Wi-Fi, large flat-screen TV, balcony looking out on the majestic cliffs.

Minnewaska Lodge worked really well for this type of meeting and would be a great base for exploring the Hudson Valley.

Room Tip: I would be sure to get a room facing the cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spoiled with a view toward the cliff, I rested well each night. The common room was an excellent place for presentations, meals, and 1:1 meetings. The food was delicious, served on time, and nutritious. Since the room didn't have coffee makers, it was also nice to be able to come down early into the lobby and pour myself a cup from a thermos. Little touches made the difference. The staff was courteous and helpful. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cliff, second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

They say that it takes at least two visits to create a tradition, but I'll go ahead, jump the gun and say that in our case it only took one, and for your sake too, I can comfortably say that this IS the trip you're looking for.

What ever it may be they've got it: friendly staff? gotcha covered. adventure? yup. romance? oolala baby. danger? you betcha. solitude? yeah duh! Germans? well not exactly, but you can find them across the street!

Book your room now and see for yourself what it's all about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Address: 3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnewaska Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.