We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodge in a Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Save Saved
You added Minnewaska Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minnewaska Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gardiner
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge in a Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Minnewaska Lodge is a very well maintained and operated lodge with clean and comfortable rooms. Our room had a back deck that faced the Shawnagunk Mountains.

It is minutes away from great hiking at Minnewaska State Park and the Mohonk Preserve, and not far from the town of New Paltz, which is full of restaurants and shops. After a day of hiking I highly recommend simply walking directly across the road from the Minnewaska Lodge for very good food and very strong beers at the Mountain Brauhaus German Restaurant.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    46
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
99
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Lovely place in an ideal location --near New Paltz and near great hiking. Room was very clean and well furnished with a comfortable bed and a beautiful view. Breakfast was excellent -- lots of choices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent three nights at the lodge and had a great stay. My girlfriend and I went hiking in the Minnewaska State Park and the Mohonk Preserve which are only minutes from the lodge. The breakfast was exactly what we needed to get us going for the hikes. They were very acommidating and the place was very clean. We would go back to the lodge if we are ever down in that area again.

Room Tip: The rooms of the cliffs are nice and have their own balcony. We were not in the room much so it did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosotn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our first visit to the area. I came across the lodge looking for something and always wanted to stay here. It was well worth the wait. Came with our daughter, grandson and son in law. They had a good time hiking while my wife and I sat by Lake Minnewaska with the grandkid. The room was comfy with a view of the Gunks. Get a room with a balcony. The great room and deck were wonderful. Plenty of room for the grand son to run around. Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Look forward to our next vist. A pool would have been nice.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our second stay & we stayed 2 nights/ midweek. Very nice, clean room & pleasant Great Room/ breakfast lounge. Very accomodating staff. Quick trip to Mohonk Mountain Preserve. Great views of The Gunks & rear area for our children (ages 8 & 5) to explore. And yes, the granola & jar of cookies are notable! We will definitely be back for our next annual trip to the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We were only at the lodge from 9:00pm to 9:00am, but it was as restful a twelve hours as one could hope for. The lodge is warm, clean, inviting and serene. There are freshly baked cookies and fruits in the lobby, Hudson bay blankets on the beds, stunning views of the nearby cliffs and copious amounts of homemade granola, coffee cakes and coffee at breakfast.

We will be back for a longer stay in the near future.

Room Tip: I don't think you can select a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This past weekend was our second visit to Minnewaska Lodge and it was every bit as good as our first visit! The charming ambience (with stunning views of the Gunks cliffs), delicious breakfasts (including quiche, crumb cake, fruit bowl, homemade granola, and many, many other choices), very friendly and helpful staff, superb cleanliness, "Kiss My Face" toiletries, comfortable beds, and convenient location unquestionably made this a PERFECT spot for us!!! Our daughter was getting married locally and, with our many preparations, etc, it was a pleasure to come back to the Lodge at the end of each day to relax in such perfect, peaceful surroundings! The cookie jar filled with fresh baked chocolate chip cookies every evening, centrally located in the lobby as you enter, definitely was the frosting on the cake!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Address: 3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnewaska Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.