We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fall Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Minnewaska Lodge to your Saves list
Minnewaska Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nanuet, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good Fall Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Minnewaska Lodge and would stay there again, although I think some of its policies are little restrictive. For example, weekends (Friday and Saturday) require a two-night stay (I was there on a Sunday night) and if you cancel your reservation 30 days prior to arrival date, you receive a credit that must be used within six months. Therefore, I would not stay there in January or February when the weather is unpredictable--certainly not 30 days in advance. You are charged for the room when you make the reservation, so my bill was paid before I got there. Also note that the lodge accepts AAA.
The lodge is located in Gardiner, NY, and is approximately six miles from the town of New Paltz, which makes it convenient to New Paltz's many restaurants and shops and other activities in the area.
The lodge, which has 26 rooms, is set back from the road and located at the base of the Shawangunk Mountains. The rooms at the back of the lodge have small terraces and a view of the mountains. The rooms in the front, like mine, have a view of the parking lot (in my e-mail confirmation it was described as "forest view"). Note that there are a few parking spaces by the entrance to the lodge. Otherwise, you must park in the larger lot, which requires you to walk up and down a small hill. Even if you don't have a mountain view room, you can enjoy the view from the deck or seated in the Adirondacks chairs scattered across the lawn. A good view is also provided in the Great room, where breakfast is served.
My room was spacious, with a cathedral ceiling, and decorated with oak Mission-style furniture. There was a king-size bed and end tables on either side with lamps, a phone and clock radio. To the right was a desk with a lamp and a chair and an arm chair. An ottoman was at the foot of the bed. Across from the bed was a bureau with a flat screen television on top. The closet contained an extra pillow and blanket, iron, ironing board and luggage rack.
The bathroom was decent size, with ample counter space, and a heat lamp. A hair dryer and Kiss My Face toiletries are provided but no coffee maker (however, coffee, tea and hot chocolate are provided in the breakfast room 24/7). Noteworthy to me is that four sets of towels were provided.
Breakfast is served in the Great room off the lobby. It also has a cathedral ceiling and one windowed wall that looks out on the mountains, so you can enjoy the view while you're having breakfast. There is one large table with six chairs and small groupings of tables and chairs. There is a fireplace but it wasn't in use when I was there. In addition to coffee and tea, breakfast included granola, fresh fruit, English muffins and cakes. Later in the day, cookies are provided in the lobby.
The Hudson Valley area is particularly beautiful in the fall. Last summer I had stayed at the Mohonk Mountain House in New Paltz and had wanted to return in the fall to see the view from the tower on the grounds when the leaves are changing. Because a one-night stay at the Minnewaska Lodge ($179) is much cheaper than that for the Mohonk Mountain House I chose to stay at the lodge and buy a day pass to the Mohonk Mountain House grounds ($25 weekends, $20 weekdays). I believe that the lodge provides free passes to the Mohonk Preserve but had run out of its allotment at the time of my stay. The Mohonk Preserve Web site states that the Preserve and the Mohonk Mountain House are two separate places.


I

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    51
    14
    12
    7
See reviews for
45
108
3
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Minnewaska was amazing in just about every possible way a lodge can be amazing. Firstly, the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The scenery is outrageous - pick a room with a balcony. I just returned from my stay and one of my happiest of moments was sitting on our balcony staring out into Minnewaska State Park wrapped in a comfy blanket (provided by the lodge). Mornings in the great room, eating breakfast by the fire, are incredibly relaxing and the available hikes nearby are perfect for any level of hiker.
The place is immaculate, the beds are comfy, there's plenty of great restaurants within a 10 mile radius and the Gilded Otter, which is a brewery just 8 mins away from the lodge brews its own beers and it perfect for a lazy afternoon.
Don't think twice. Book this place for a weekend escape. You won't be sorry. =) Oh, and grab a bite at the German restie Mountain Brauhaus directly across the road from the lodge. Delicious.

Room Tip: Bring snacks for your room. The lodge doesn't offer kitchen services. Breakfast is just a conti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The lodge is amazing and has wonderful accommodations. The setting at the foot of the cliff is stunning. The proximity to town is great, and easy access to nature is a plus. But most of all it was the friendlness of the staff that made the stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Just spent 5 nights here with the great team at Minnewaska. We rented out the facility and really enjoyed the cozy atmosphere and delicious spread. It's a short drive to New Paltz and you feel like you're in the country, surrounded by woods and deer. Beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, the place is clean and cared for. Can't say enough about Patrick and his staff. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: WiFi can be spotty in rooms, but fine in most common spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We just held a group event here and took over the whole place. I could not recommend this place and this staff more for an event with around 25-30 people. Rebecca, Patrick, and the whole crew went out of their way to make us feel like more than just paying guests but people they enjoyed having. Everything was timely, tasteful, and great - not to mention the phenomenal beds and incredible setting. Book your time there...just not during our next stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel had a really nice location and the staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable but very average decor. My main problem was that the walls were really paper thin, to the point that I felt funny talking to my husband thinking everyone could hear me. The guests above us were walking back and forth in the room for hours it seemed and we heard every step, which became annoying. The other problem was that after we had already left a tip for our room cleaner, we noticed a 10% gratuity added to the bill. For 2 nights it was almost $40.00 which was a bit much, considering we had already left a tip. That was a huge turnoff for me. I would have preferred that was in the cost of the room upfront and not a surprise at check out.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe King with cliff view which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Minnewaska Lodge for 3 nights while attending a reunion in New Paltz.. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was helpful. We had a flat tire and the man at the desk called Beek's Garage and they fixed it for us right away. The lodge is beautiful, the continental breakfast was very good and the chocolate chip cookies were a tasty treat in the afternoon. The area has a lot to see and do. New Paltz has shopping, history, and good restaurants. There are wine and whiskey tastings in the area and several other attractive little towns to visit. We look forward visiting the Hudson River Valley again and staying at Minnewaska Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Address: 3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnewaska Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.