We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1st impression, Good overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden City Hotel to your Saves list
Garden City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Seventh Street, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Carle Place, New York
1 review
“Great 1st impression, Good overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wowed initially by the hotel & rm. All & all, very clean with upscale touches here & there. Maybe somewhat picky, but here's what holds it back from a 4 or 5:
a. Desk way to high compared to chair height. An office chair that's adjustable would have made it workable for a computer
b. They have free coffee in the lobby in the morning. The 1 of 2 mornings I was there they ran out (& it wasn't that busy).
c. I was initially staying there 12 nights. You'd think they'd have 20+ hangers for pants & dress shirts, but only had about half what I needed. I called down for more. After 15 min. no one came. So called again to say leave them in the rm as I'll be stepping out.
d. Asked for 3 k cups of coffee in the rm daily vs 1 decaf, 1 tea & 1 coffee. They didn't follow through.

Room Tip: Moved to Homewood Suites in Carle Place: much better value for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    40
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
27
2
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Linolnshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staying here for 1 night with work. This is my first stay here although my colleagues have stayed before.

My room is beautifully decorated with neutral tones and is spotlessly clean.
The room is huge and has 2 beds with gorgeous soft linen
The bathroom also a great size and immaculate with lovely fittings.

Reception staff are very friendly and helpful

Room service is great with prompt delivery and food presented well

Can't wait to stay here again!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was there for one night on a business trip. Rooms were very nice and hotel very clean and modern. Staff was very friendly from door to lounge. Had two meals there that were done very well for a meeting of 60+ people.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you, Scott, for your recent stay and review while here on business. I am thrilled you read that you enjoyed our brand new guest rooms and gracious hospitality. I will be sure to extend your feedback of our banquet catering to the team. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at The Garden City hotel for 8 nights beginning of April, whilst visiting relatives. What a great hotel, location was great just 2 min walk to the train station, plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. The hotel rooms were lovely, really spacious, clean and decorated to a high standard. The staff were friendly. The food was good too - would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay and review of The Garden City Hotel. I am thrilled to read that our brand new, spacious guest rooms, culinary offering and location in the heart of the village was to your liking. Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is top notch, high end and in a great location. Very very close to restaurants (walking distance), in general very good. Will be going back on my next business trip. The rooms are super clean, the staff friendly and in general a 4+ star!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay and glowing review. I am glad to read you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of town, gracious hospitality from our staff and spacious, new guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here last night in a penthouse suite and would like to comment on how professional and friendly Kevin at the front desk was to me. He made me feel like I was at home from the step I walked in with his friendly greetings!!!! He seems like he is a very seasoned with what he is doing. I highly suggest if you have a problem or are just having a bad day you talk to Kevin at the front desk!!!

-William

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you, William, for your recent stay and accolades for our front desk manager, Kevin. I will be sure extend your kind words to him and his manager. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am often in this part of Long Island for business and I always try to stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is a nice size, modern and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. The Polo Lounge is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and eat at the bar. I love the fact the hotel still has a gift shop. It's a short walk to town where you will find restaurants and shops. Location across from the railroad station is very convenient. The rooms need better lighting by the desk area and breakfast is very expensive but it's always an enjoyable stay. Can't wait to try the spa and check out the garden patio.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Laurel, for your recent stay and review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of town as well as our brand new guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay, and hope you will have the chance to experience our Red Door Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden City Hotel

Address: 45 Seventh Street, Garden City, NY 11530
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating its 140th anniversary in 2014, The Garden City Hotel boasts 272 brand new guest rooms and suites, redesigned as a luxurious retreat for overnight guests by Italian designer Marcello Pozzi. Since 1874, The Garden City Hotel has welcomed guests with gracious hospitality, spacious guest rooms and luxurious suites. Our historic Long Island hotel has been a preferred destination for dignitaries and celebrities as well as business travelers, New York locals and visitors from around the globe. The recently opened Red Door Spa located in the hotel's lower lobby offers signature spa treatments, specialty spa services, full-service hair salon and extensive retail boutique. Boasting 25,000 square feet of recently restored and enhanced banquet space, The Garden City Hotel offers the ambiance to impress and the ability to deliver the gold standard of business meetings and corporate events. Our legendary Grand Ballroom is the ideal setting for a conference, gala event or a dream wedding. The acclaimed Polo Steakhouse, a classic American steakhouse with a twist of modern luxury, serves 28-dry aged Prime USDA grade steaks, chops and signature entrees, while the Polo Lounge offers an upscale bar menu, scratch-made cocktails and an extensive wine list. The Wine Room offers a private dining space for events, meetings and celebrations. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate all The Garden City Hotel has to offer, including indoor pool, fitness center, seasonal outdoor dining and close proximity to New York City and major airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.