We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful modern hotel with old style friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden City Hotel to your Saves list
Garden City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Seventh Street, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful modern hotel with old style friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A hidden gem in the middle of Long Island, just 20/30 minutes from JFK. Very friendly front desk staff on arrival and departure. The bar staff in The Polo Bar were very attentive allowing me to try the wine and beer before ordering a full glass. The bar/snack food was top quality, not too cheap, but when it arrives you know it's worth the little extra. Again, at breakfast, great staff service and great food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    30
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
22
1
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Hempstead, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My company booked me here for a short business trip. Pictures on website don't do it justice, this gem is a must see. Property looked freshly polished, accompanied by their extremely accommodating staff. Mike was very inviting at check in and Kevin the hotel manager personally greeted me one my way to the elevator, making me feel like I was a king. I even received a follow up call asking if their was anything else I needed-- now that's service!!

Spent some time in the Polo Lounge which had an impressive selection of whiskeys. Though at first I thought it was a little pricey for my taste, I discovered the value is in the quality of food and service. Samantha the waitress was tentative and knowledgeable in the menu.

Only complaint is that the pool wasn't ready at the time of my stay, but that's just something to look forward to. I can't wait to come back -- I booked my girlfriend and I a weekend getaway so she can try out the new Red Door Spa.

Thank you Garden City Hotel for making a dreadful business trip a stay to remember!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family had the distinct good fortune to experience Sunday brunch at the Garden City Hotel. It is an experience well worth pursuing. Our oldest son is celebrating his 21st birthday in a few days, and both he and his younger brother will be returning to college by weekend. Notwithstanding the excuse for a celebration, the experience was all you could have hoped for. The food – varied, and all of the highest quality prepared to your taste buds’ delight – will have you boasting to your friends. The Garden City Hotel is a “world class facility” and so its dining areas are consistent with that statement. Finally, its “wait staff” outshines any in whatever way you wish to measure the competition. All in all, kudos to Garden City Hotel for providing us with a wonderful dining experience. Now that you’ve set the bar at such a height, the challenge is for you to maintain it there. Good luck with that, and from what we’ve seen, I am confident in your being able to do that and then some.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at 3:30 a.m. Dec. 24, exhausted after a long and stressful work and travel day on the 23rd. Everyone who took care of us from Anthony at the desk to the bellman to Vincente the waiter for Christmas Eve lunch, to the parking valet made us feel welcome and glad we picked the Garden City Hotel. We slept well, the room was very comfortable and that was important for we needed to be rested before joining the extended family for all the holiday celebrations. It was unexpectedly such a positive experience to be treated so well in such a lovely place after driving from Northern Virginia. Long Island family members have been coming to the hotel to dine for generations and now we can add acclaim for the accomodations too! The remaining question is would the hotel have welcomed our 2 Great Pyrenees dogs if we had brought them along.

Room Tip: Just make your needs and wants known to the desk staff, they are very polite, knowledgable and helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent stay this holiday season and for such a lovely review. I will be sure to extend your accolades to the team as well as Anthony and Vincente. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our brand new guest rooms and experience lunch with us. The Garden City Hotel is a pet friendly hotel, but please do speak with one of our guest service managers prior to your next visit to discuss the details and any restrictions. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for just one night Christmas Eve but it was a very pleasant stay. The room was large, clean and comfortable, and the hotel itself had a very cozy and warm feel to it. We did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on the dining experience, but I would definitely stay here again and do highly recommend the Garden City Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent stay this holiday season and recommendation! I am glad to read that you enjoyed our brand new guest rooms and then genuine hospitality and ambiance of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hidden gem in a quiet suburb of NYC is a magnificently restored hotel with a state of art Spa and a great steak house is a perfect get away for a weekend or a perfect place for resting after a hectic traveled day.

With on site facilities and surrounding shopping stroll made my stay a perfect experience. Friendly staff, superb service throughout made it feel true home away from home during my stay.

Cleanliness in the room and amenities are commendable.
I will return and recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay and review! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our brand new Red Door Spa and Polo Steakhouse! I am also glad to read that you experienced our wonderful village with shopping and dining just blocks from the hotel. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

WIFI IN THIS HOTEL! ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Don't stay here of you are intend on using your device to connect to the Internet.

Do stay here of you enjoy sitting on the toilet seat to gain any kind of Internet connection.

Spend millions of dollars on refurbishment and they can't get one of the key things a business travel needs. WIFI CONNECTION!

SORT OT OUT. ITS EMBARRASSING

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden City Hotel

Address: 45 Seventh Street, Garden City, NY 11530
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating its 140th anniversary in 2014, The Garden City Hotel proudly presents 272 brand new guest rooms and suites, redesigned as a luxurious retreat for overnight guests by Italian designer Marcello Pozzi. Since 1874, The Garden City Hotel has welcomed guests with gracious hospitality, spacious guest rooms and luxurious suites. Our historic Long Island hotel has been a preferred destination for dignitaries and celebrities as well as business travelers, New York locals and visitors from around the globe. Boasting 25,000 square feet of recently restored and enhanced banquet space, The Garden City Hotel offers the ambiance to impress and the ability to deliver the gold standard of business meetings and corporate events. Our legendary Grand Ballroom is the ideal setting for a conference, gala event or a dream wedding. The acclaimed Polo Steakhouse, a classic American steakhouse with a twist of modern luxury, serves 28-dry aged Prime USDA grade steaks, chops and signature entrees, while the Polo Lounge offers an upscale bar menu, scratch-made cocktails and an extensive wine list. The Wine Room offers a private dining space for events, meetings and celebrations. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate all The Garden City Hotel has to offer, including indoor pool, fitness center, seasonal outdoor dining and close proximity to New York City and major airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.