We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend at almost perfect Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garden City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Seventh Street, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Garden City
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend at almost perfect Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I guess we were lucky to arrive at 3:15, so we could get our room right away. Not so for our friends, who had trouble to get to their rooms even after 3 pm ! Our room was quite spacious and well appointed, the bed was comfortable and toiletries were by L'Occitane , however, the next day we could not get room cleaned , even with the plea for "expeditious service" on our door and directly to the stuff! All our friends ( we all came in from out of state for the wedding) were complaining of mistakes in reservations, very delayed check ins, terrible rooms and poor service. Not to mention not working pool. The wedding quarters though were spectacular with mirrors and crystal chandeliers, beautiful floors and carpets. But air conditioners were blasting all night and we had to leave earlier as the stuff could not do anything for guests comfort. Not to mention terribly overdone filet minion! And, finally, I have to mention the location of the Hotel, which was perfect. A very short stroll to fabulous stretch of outside cafes and coffee shops, green streets and pretty stores. All in all it was a perfect Long Island weekend!

Room Tip: you'll have to be on the higher floor, probably, above 3d, to get a good bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
10
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I feel that the service all the way from the manager down to the front desk team is apathetic. We have bought 80 out of the 90 rooms in this hotel for our family wedding this weekend. We had a function last night at 6pm and had flown from out of town & got in at 1:30pm. The manager himself stated that he could not " control" when we got the rooms because the guests that were in our rooms would not leave. He said that the earliest we would get our rooms were 3pm. He then offered FOR US TO CALL ANOTHER HOTEL and stay there if we were not happy with this answer?
Then another guest tried to check in and his room was mistakenly given to another guest night the night before & because the hotel was completely booked, they had no more rooms for them! The front desk acted like it was the guests mistake because there was no way the computers could do that. The guests had a confirmation number & paid for the 2 night stay & had to argue for literally an hour & a half before anything was finally done. They magically " found" a room but was unapologetic again for their mistake?!?!
We ultimately did not get all of our rooms until 4:30pm. Our wedding event started at 6pm and we were scrambling to get everything done in time. The intention of making things easier by staying at the same hotel of all of the events backfired by this management's apathy & lack of concern for their guests. The poor attitude coming from the management team disseminates to the front desk team & other hotel employees. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I just visited the Garden City Hotel this week with my daughter (who is starting college at Hofstra University) and my husband. Although we only stayed for two nights, I have to say that I found the room to be impeccable, nicely decorated, and comfortable. The door staff and desk staff were all pleasant, smiling, helpful, and professional. The lobby was just as I would have expected - decorated well with a sense of class. Not overly noisy or trying to portray a night club atmosphere as we recently experienced at "spa" hotel in nearby Westbury back in June. We only had breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good, although on Wednesday especially they did seem a bit short staffed with only two waiters (it appeared) to serve the morning breakfast rush. No host or hostess at the desk so you had to wait until a waiter was able to usher you to a table. Not a big deal, but the staff did look a little stressed although, again, they were polite and professional. On Wednesday evening, we had cocktails out on the patio which was also nice and filled up quickly with people. More small seating groups could possibly be added so that couples have more options than sitting in large sofa arrangements that are then encroached upon by larger, noisier groups. They also ran out of Sauvignon Blanc very early in the evening and the only other choice was Chardonnay (yuck). So a better selection of white wines could be made available perhaps.

Overall, this was a great hotel to stay in the well-landscaped, quiet area of Garden City. We will be returning later for Hofstra Parent Weekend as well. The only negative was that our room had an adjoining door to the room next door, and unfortunately, the soundproofing was not that good. We could hear the person's television quite clearly through the closed set of doors. If you go, try to get a room that is not adjoining another if you appreciate quiet. Oh, and our air conditioner unit acted up weirdly in the middle of night, started rattling horribly, and not throwing out any cool air at all. I turned it off, and then when I turned it back on the next morning it worked fine.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not adjoin another if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My stay at this hotel was wonderful. Great room service and staff. Made the money worth spending.The staff worked hard to make your stay enjoyable. Everything was perfect. I had such a good weekend. The room was gorgeous and everyone was so sweet and helpful. I swear compliments must have been included in the room price. I felt like royalty all weekend. Vini at the patio was wonderful, Dan the concierge really hooked it up with broadway tickets and Mensija was super sweet and helped me save a little money booking a romance package. Thank you all so much!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a night, after spending all day at the beach we need it a place to relax and sleep. Room was clean, bed very comfortable, and best of all the staff were very attentive We we're help by a lady name Menseya with our reservation, she was so helpful and friendly and keep us comfortable at all times; the doormen Francisco was a gentleman! My husband and I we were impressed on how all the staff was so accommodating to their guesses. Lovely hotel, great location! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff and Service – Everyone in this hotel works to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We had 100% exceptional service 100% of the time. Reservations Mensia awesome Front desk staff even helped us check in to our flight on the way back and always remembered our names. Room service and Housekeeping were prompt and polite and fulfilled all our requests right away

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel seemed very good value for money to me, and we had an excellent short stay here. The recently refurbished room was good: especially our bathroom and the very comfortable bed. The lobby and bar/breakfast room are better than most similarly priced city hotels, and the breakfast was high quality (but not cheap).
But the best thing of all is that all the staff were helpful and enthusiastic 100% of the time. No exceptions. This suggests good management who really care about customers getting what they want and having a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden City Hotel

Address: 45 Seventh Street, Garden City, NY 11530
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden City Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating its 140th anniversary in 2014, The Garden City Hotel proudly presents 272 brand new guest rooms and suites, redesigned as a luxurious retreat for overnight guests by Italian designer Marcello Pozzi. Since 1874, The Garden City Hotel has welcomed guests with gracious hospitality, spacious guest rooms and luxurious suites. Our historic Long Island hotel has been a preferred destination for dignitaries and celebrities as well as business travelers, New York locals and visitors from around the globe. Boasting 25,000 square feet of recently restored and enhanced banquet space, The Garden City Hotel offers the ambiance to impress and the ability to deliver the gold standard of business meetings and corporate events. Our legendary Grand Ballroom is the ideal setting for a conference, gala event or a dream wedding. The acclaimed Polo Steakhouse, a classic American steakhouse with a twist of modern luxury, serves 28-dry aged Prime USDA grade steaks, chops and signature entrees, while the Polo Lounge offers an upscale bar menu, scratch-made cocktails and an extensive wine list. The Wine Room offers a private dining space for events, meetings and celebrations. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate all The Garden City Hotel has to offer, including indoor pool, fitness center, seasonal outdoor dining and close proximity to New York City and major airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.