We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the suburbs of Long Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garden City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Seventh Street, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Garden City
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the suburbs of Long Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed at the Garden City hotel many times and most times have enjoyed our stay . On this stay we were on the 7 the floor and had a great view. A few weeks ago we stayed on the 3 rd floor and mostly had a view of a roof top and could hear the sound from the club below. The hotel has been going through renovations over the past year and the rooms we stayed in were the new rooms which were nice with white subway tile in the bathroom. Not my preferred look but it is clean looking. I think the hotel was sold again since I entered a review after last summers stay and it is gone. Since our last review is no longer shown, we would like to thank Johnny Boone a manager for his help on one of our stays last summer.
For people that are not aware of the area ,the village of Garden City is a short walk up the street to the left of the hotel and offers many great eating, drinking and shopping establishments. Across the street from the hotel is a Long Island Rail Road station that has many trains into NYC.
We recommend staying at this hotel and look forward to seeing the completion of the renovations.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in a newly renovated suite in the G.C. Hotel on July 5th and was disappointed with our room.
Here are the facts.
1 I cut my foot on carpet tracts which were sticking up through the carpet .

2 The Bathroom area was missing a vanity table and shelves for towels

3 They provided one bathrobe instead of two.

4 The room did not have a clothing closet instead there was a cut out in the

bathroom wall exposed (without a door ) with a hanger bar four feet

from the floor. My wife could not hang her dress .

5. In the kitchen area paper towels were not provided


The highlight of my stay was the staff. They were well trained, and keenly

focused on customer service

Sincerely Chris D

Room Tip: Ask the front desk to see the room you want to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyork
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed for the 4th of July weekend ,clean hotel but that gift shop workers have poor customer service and let me but multiple things and wouldn't let me get a refund because they didn't fit. I complain to the front desk they basically took their side and said he was right .its nothing I can do, They are not all for guest !okay stay poor customer service .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For the money you pay, this hotel is definitely not worth it. You can't order room service after 11pm. They do have a snack menu available from 11pm until 6am. We called at 11:47pm and was told there was no food! Definitely not good service. We were starving and was told they had no food. What a disgrace.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Anne~ Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am sorry to read that our 'Late Night' menu, beginning at 11pm through 6am, was not to your satisfaction. This menu includes Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail, Classic Caesar Salad, Roast Turkey Wrap, Artisan Green Salad, Imported and Domestic Cheese plate with grapes, honeycomb and crackers, Tri Colored Nachos with salsa and guacamole and Mediterranean Dips with Toasted Pita Chips. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a stunning hotel. I travel frequently for work, and typically I stay in less-than-amazing properties. This was a major exception. I am not sure how I got lucky enough to stay in this hotel, but I am glad I did.

The rooms have been completely renovated, and still smell like fresh paint and carpet. The bed was incredibly comfortable with plenty of pillows, a designated couch-area, and a wonderful full-length mirror. The a/c unit worked well, though the cover they placed on it made the machine a bit loud (I just slid the cover off when I went to bed).

The amenities seemed nice-a bit expensive for the restaurant and breakfast service. Also, the pool and gym were still under renovation-but if you ask at the front desk they will direct you to the NYC Sports Club that is about two blocks away, which is a fully staffed and functioning gym (think Planet Fitness with more free-weights).

Outside of the hotel the area is gorgeous, one of the most planned and established communities I have traveled too. Great food is only a walk away-I def. recommend checking out the local bars and pubs.

The only part of the experience that was not ideal was the "room-hold" put on my credit card. I always keep a separate card for travel, but in this situation I was charged $450 upon check-in, and then an amount that varied between $45 and $85 each additional night. It added up to be over $700 dollars for a hold...for five days! That was a bit extreme, but I was assured all of the charges would clear. I am just glad I keep it all on a separate card.

Room Tip: If you find the A/C Unit to be too loud-slide the wood cover off of it when you are ready to go to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Greg, thank you for your recent stay and review. Thank you for your kind words, I am thrilled to read that our recent renovations, brand new guest rooms, amenities and proximity to our beautiful village and dining were to your liking. Thank you for your feedback on the room hold process, I will make mention at our next staff meeting. We look forward to your next stay with us, either on business or leisure travel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent our wedding night here and I was really looking forward to returning to this hotel with our children. The hotel is very nicely done and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. However, the service is beyond pathetic. We checked in late at night and were supposed to have a roll away bed in the room. They told me they would get one up to our room as soon as possible. 30 minutes later, the bed had not arrived. The phone in our room was broken so I had to go downstairs to the desk to ask for the bed. Finally I was told they were out of roll aways and would bring an air mattress right away. It took several more trips downstairs before I was able to get the bed finally delivered around midnight. The next morning before we left for the day I was promised there would be a roll away in my room that night. And for the third time, I asked to have them fix the phone. Needless to say, we got back late that night and there was no rollaway. And the phone was still broken. I spoke to a manager, who did make a small adjustment to our bill.

Don't expect that if you request a certain type of room or extra bed that you will get it. There was another angry guest with the same issue in front of me on line when I checked in. This may be the nicest property on LI, but I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. For a hotel of this caliber, they have a lot to learn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you Stefanie, for you recent stay and review. I am glad to read that our renovated rooms and public spaces are to your liking. I am sorry to read of any inconvenience that our roll-away bed service was to you, as of course they are not a guaranteed amenity and are based on availability. We do hope that you will return to the hotel and enjoy all that we have to offer. Please do give us a call should you like to discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is renovated and the rooms spacious and nice at that time we have been there the spa and the pool didn't work cause of the renovation,the breakfast i would love to be buffet and not menu and i would love to have bigger portions.The location is good close the train station just you have to consider you need around one hour to get to madison square garden and day trip ticket peak on time is 19 USD . I suggest it for someone who wants to be not in the center of New York.

Room Tip: Just ask for view in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am glad to read that our brand new rooms and public spaces are to your liking. Our spa and pool are currently under a complete renovation- we are excited to share that this winter, a 7,000 square foot, full service spa and a salt water, indoor swimming pool will be complete. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden City Hotel

Address: 45 Seventh Street, Garden City, NY 11530
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden City Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating its 140th anniversary in 2014, The Garden City Hotel proudly presents 272 brand new guest rooms and suites, redesigned as a luxurious retreat for overnight guests by Italian designer Marcello Pozzi. Since 1874, The Garden City Hotel has welcomed guests with gracious hospitality, spacious guest rooms and luxurious suites. Our historic Long Island hotel has been a preferred destination for dignitaries and celebrities as well as business travelers, New York locals and visitors from around the globe. Boasting 25,000 square feet of recently restored and enhanced banquet space, The Garden City Hotel offers the ambiance to impress and the ability to deliver the gold standard of business meetings and corporate events. Our legendary Grand Ballroom is the ideal setting for a conference, gala event or a dream wedding. The acclaimed Polo Steakhouse, a classic American steakhouse with a twist of modern luxury, serves 28-dry aged Prime USDA grade steaks, chops and signature entrees, while the Polo Lounge offers an upscale bar menu, scratch-made cocktails and an extensive wine list. The Wine Room offers a private dining space for events, meetings and celebrations. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate all The Garden City Hotel has to offer, including indoor pool, fitness center, seasonal outdoor dining and close proximity to New York City and major airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.