We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your Usual Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grimaldi's Pizza

Grimaldi's Pizza
980 Franklin Ave, Garden City, NY 11530
(516) 294-6565
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 110 Restaurants in Garden City
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not your Usual Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a great place for a little different style pizza than all the pizza parlors that proliferate the Island. They do a thin crust and they have a wide assortment of toppings. Great for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Grimaldi's Garden City lives up to its fabled reputation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Grimaldi's pizzas have attained an iconic reputation from its early days in Brooklyn. In recent years Grimaldi's has expanded its locations to long island and queens. We recently dined at the Garden City location and were thoroughly impressed with the food, service, management and atmosphere. The Pizza is nothing short of sensational. Thin crust with fabulous mozzarella cheese and homemade tomato sauce. Easy to eat and digest. The help in the Garden City location was upbeat, friendly and welcoming. We were particularly impressed with Lou Pisano the assistant manager, who went out of his way to make our dining experience special. Although the main attraction is Pizza, Grimaldi's makes a wonderful caesar salad and has delicious desserts .
This pizzeria is run like an upscale restaurant and draws an eclectic crowd of regulars and visitors. We will return again and again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Nice people, great crust and bland pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Really enjoy thin crust pizza and I have to say Grimaldi's has a great crust but the rest of the pizza had little taste or flavor. The sauce had no flavor and the fresh mozzarella was also without any discernible taste so I was very disappointed but have to say it was hard to write this review because the staff was friendly and the service was quick and unobtrusive. Add a little flavor to the sauce and toppings and the pizza would remind me of a classic local pizza joint.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Coal-fired Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I have eaten at the Garden City restaurant for several years now and have always had a really good pizza here, although sometimes it comes out of the oven with the crust burned in places. Nevertheless, it's really good pizza. The crust is thin, which we like, and the sauce is very tasty. We like several toppings and pepperoni and sausage are our favorites. We don't care much for their mushrooms, which we normally like at other restaurants, so we have the fresh peppers instead and they are very good. The chopped salad is one of our favorites and the mozzarella chunks are very generous. The house vinaigrette is excellent. We have been here with a large party as well and the service is always excellent. Luigi is one of their best, he's very attentive. The wine list is limited but the choices are good considering this is primarily a pizza place. We'll go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Can't buy a slice at Grimald's...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

But at Grimaldi's you wouldn't want to as the pizza is by far the best on Long Island and "one slice leads to another". Service is attentive and the bar pours a nice glass of vino.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimaldi's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Grimaldi's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimaldi's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.