We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied with Hampton Inn stay, Garden City NY, Location just right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Garden City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Satisfied with Hampton Inn stay, Garden City NY, Location just right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

A location convenient to shopping, expressways and transit in Garden City, NY, Long Island, we had a 2 night family stay while visiting recently. We stay at Hampton Inn for familiarity, the standard of quality is consistent and very acceptable for a moderately priced, above budget level accomodations. This is a place for family gatherings (large in many cases, two wedding receptions one on each evening occurred in meeting lounge areas during our stay). Parking is adjacent, the property is next door to a Hyatt Place venue, plus Westbury Plaza has Nordstrom, Gap, Saks 5th Avenue outlets plus various food venues, Trader Joe's, the Container Store, and a stand alone Shake Shack establishment. And Long Island boasts a large array of diners, with speciality larger box retailiers including REI located nearby. Finally it is within walking distance 15 minutes of a Long Island RR station Carle Place with 40 minute travel to Penn Station a mere few blocks away.

Room Tip: All rooms will hear loud trucks and motorcycles on adjacent expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time out to complete our survey. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and am impressed you took the time to list the shops in the local mall area. I was surprised that you mentioned you can hear trucks from all guest rooms. We are close to the Meadowbrook Pkwy but our rooms are surprisingly sound proof.
Thanks again for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    90
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
105
42
19
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed one night in this hotel. Room was clean, bed very comfortable, amenities such as bath products were Neutrogena and very nice. Free breakfast buffet was quite good. The view from our 4th floor room was part of a parking lot and some factories. (Nothing to write home about!) Other than this view, hotel was very friendly to travelers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey, Wish there was something we can do about the view from our hotel. The only control we have is how our staff treats our guest which we do quite well. There is distant future plans for the surrounding area and the Galleria Plaza mall right down the road is certainly an added benefit.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Spent the day at Jones Beach and just wanted a nice relaxing evening followed by sleep. That's just what we got. I have nothing bad to say about the hotel but I will make two comments. GPS directions are tricky at best. They even tell you that in the confirmation email. Once you get close just look for the Hyatt because it's more visable and right next door. The other commet is be VERY carefull with the water. When they say it hot. THEY MEAN IT! You can make hot chocolate or tea right from sink! These are comments not complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thanks for completing our Trip Advisor survey and please accept my apologies for the VERY hot water in the sink. That is unusual and we've had a professional company come in and correct the problem. I'm delighted you had a great stay after a relaxing day at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here one night and what a great hotel. Well maintained, clean and quiet. The staff were efficient and friendly. Very nice location with many eating and shopping places nearby, within walking distance. Our room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. Fridge and hair dryer were a bonus in our room. Many stations on the television. Free WIFI was excellent. Free breakfast was plentiful with many items, too many to mention. Very satisfying. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thanks for the great comments about our hotel. We certainly pride ourselves on our great staff and location. We get many positive comments about our great breakfast and our team. Thanks again for the kind words and I look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights so my husband could attend a reunion. Lovely hotel, clean rooms, nice amenities (fridge, microwave) good pool and tasty breakfast. The laundry room is spotless the business center was fine for my needs. Hotel is close to many restaurants, a grocery story, mall and movie theater. Easy access to other parts of Long Island. Tiffany at the front desk was especially helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thanks for taking time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and am so glad that Tiffany made your stay even more enjoyable. We are certainly lucky to have her and recently promoted her to Front Desk Supervisor.
Thanks again for the kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient location. The staff is friendly and professional. The hotel is very well maintained. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The free breakfast has a variety of items. I visit this location frequently during the year and I will continue to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for filling out our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and will continue to return. Look forward to seeing you real soon.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here to attend a concert at the Nassau Coliseum and it was a short taxi ride! Many places to eat around and the breakfast is a good Hampton breakfast. We walked to the train station to head to Manhattan which wasn't too bad of a walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. One of the benefits of our hotel is not only the proximity to great shops and restaurants but also how easy it is to walk to the nearest LIRR station for a 45 minute ride to Midtown Manhattan.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden City

Address: 1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Garden City is the perfect location for travelers looking to experience the best of Long Island and Manhattan. Guests can enjoy a range of local attractions from shopping at Roosevelt Field Mall to a round of golf at Eisenhower Park or a romantic dinner in downtown Garden City. Travelers looking for a weekend escape can enjoy a day on the ocean at Captree State Park or relax on the shores of Jones Beach. Check out a concert at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum or swimming meet at the Nassau County Aquatic Center.Guests looking to head into the city are walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road which allows easy access to the city via Penn Station. Our hotel is close to Hofstra, Adelphi and other local colleges and universities making us the perfect hotel for graduation weekends or big games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden City Hotel Garden City
Garden City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.