We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Garden City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Scott Township, United States
1 review
“Thumbs Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff was very helpful, the rooms were clean and the breakfast had a good selection of food. My reservation date was messed up, but the staff behind the counter took care of the problem and got me a room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm sorry your reservation was made for the incorrect date but am delighted the staff was able to handle the situation and accommodate you
Thanks again for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    89
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
104
42
19
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Check-in was very efficient. Room was just what was expected. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. It's our staff service as well as clean and comfortable rooms that helped us achieve our Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence award. Thanks again for your time and I hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We are HH Diamond members/reward stay-The hotel is located near/close to many of the surrounding catering halls/parks & tourist attractions.(Attended family wedding (Westbury Manor)short cab ride- The room layout was nicely appointed-Bedding-linens and amenities seemed upscale- Bed/mattress was lumpy/uncomfortable-probably needs replacement-other furniture appeared almost new/ room air conditioning extremely noisy especially when temperature fluctuations_Our room was designed for the physically challenged -just a personal thought-maybe attention to the companion needs staying in same room-higher/ wardrobe closets poles-maybe dividing closet space for hanging dresses & slacks. Not sure if we liked the tee shirts being worn by reception team(maybe old school on our part but would prefer a stylish golf shirt)Breakfast area seemed understaffed/ needed timely cleaning of tables/untidy/ food item not refilled timely/2 servers one for clean up&prep& refills while other server only prepared waffles which oddly created a long grumbling wait time & line/individual cereal boxes stacked in cut open cardboard shipment cartons-(very unsanitary in appearance (totally out of character for Hilton- Hampton Inn) seem very odd)fresh sliced fruit -not so fresh-threw away)Settled for toasted English muffin & waited for refill of hot oatmeal. I would call first before staying again to make sure neg. concerns were addressed

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel to participate in a youth lacrosse tournament. The staff at the hotel were wonderful- so accommodating to our team and our families. It was a great base for a youth team and the free breakfast and wifi were ideal. The common area appeared to have been recently refurbished with attractive and contemporary furniture. However the guest rooms were a little tired. Carpeting in the hallways looked old and was sagging and stained. The guest rooms could use an update with new furniture and carpeting. And the room lock/card key system was annoying (took 3-4 attempts to unlock the door everytime). But, it was clean, staff fabulous and the location across from shopping and the Shake Shack more than made up for the so-so guest room experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted the staff treated you well but at the same time want to apologize for the condition of the corridor and guest room carpeting. We are currently in the process of getting the corridor carpeting done and the rooms, which have been recently painted, wallpapered and new lighting will also undergo a renovation soon as well.
Again, with all these items out of our staff control I'm glad they made you feel welcome and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel to participate in a youth lacrosse tournament. The staff at the hotel were wonderful- so accommodating to our team and our families. It was a great base for a youth team and the free breakfast and wifi were ideal. The common area appeared to have been recently refurbished with attractive and contemporary furniture. However the guest rooms were a little tired. Carpeting in the hallways looked old and was sagging and stained. The guest rooms could use an update with new furniture and carpeting. And the room lock/card key system was annoying (took 3-4 attempts to unlock the door everytime). But, it was clean, staff fabulous and the location across from shopping and the Shake Shack more than made up for the so-so guest room experience.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted the staff treated you well and you enjoyed your stay with us I would have hoped we would have earned a better rating but understand the corridor carpeting and guest room caused you to score us the way you did. We are in the processed of getting the carpeting replaced as it has been ordered and awaiting delivery.
I hope you will decide to stay with us the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Quality service , very clean lobby and rooms but the price for the location could have been better. Stayed O/N after a wedding, not a vacation spot. Plenty of shopping and places to eat. Brealfast should be extended one hour on weekends. Coffee and tea and Lemonaid was available in the lobby.Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that you found our staff to be accomodating. Our location, like many hotels, certainly does have it's advantages and disadvantages. Most guests love that we are off the 'beaten path' and with the addition of the Galleria Plaza right across the street the area is definitely movng in the right direction.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A very solid Hampton Inn location.
There were absolutely no surprises at this Hampton Inn.
Cheerful and engaging staff.
Clean and well maintained.
Varied, well prepared breakfast with a lively group.

The work out room is on the larger side for a Hampton. They have a very nice pulley machine, a rack of weights - and bench, a rack of medicine balls and two stability balls. There is enough room for a body weight workout. There were the usual aerobic machines. You should be able to create a decent workout here.

There are decent options within a very short distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our workout facility exceeded your expectations.
Thanks again for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden City

Address: 1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Garden City is the perfect location for travelers looking to experience the best of Long Island and Manhattan. Guests can enjoy a range of local attractions from shopping at Roosevelt Field Mall to a round of golf at Eisenhower Park or a romantic dinner in downtown Garden City. Travelers looking for a weekend escape can enjoy a day on the ocean at Captree State Park or relax on the shores of Jones Beach. Check out a concert at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum or swimming meet at the Nassau County Aquatic Center.Guests looking to head into the city are walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road which allows easy access to the city via Penn Station. Our hotel is close to Hofstra, Adelphi and other local colleges and universities making us the perfect hotel for graduation weekends or big games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden City Hotel Garden City
Garden City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.