We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poster Staff for Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Garden City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
atlanta, United States
1 review
“Poster Staff for Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This site went out of their way for my stay at their site. I worked odd hours and they made sure there was a breakfeast bag at 2AM or 4AM. They made sure I had correct directions when needed as well. They were always polite and repectful. They are a quality staff and have set a high bar for others to strive for their level

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    90
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
105
42
19
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Once again I was reminded of why I choose to stay at Hampton Inn. When I checked in I was promptly greeted and quickly checked into my room. I found the hotel to be very spacious and my room very clean. When I was leaving to go to dinner I found the front desk has a 4 page list of local restaurants and they recommended on local Italian place and gave me a card to present at the restaurant that would get me VIP treatment which I understand to be less wait time if busy and a free entree or dessert. I did however choose to eat somewhere else based on something on their menu that I really wanted. But if I was to come back here I would probably go to the restaurant recommended by the hotel so as to try somewhere different. I found the breakfast area to be very clean and well stocked. If I was traveling to this area again I will stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that we met your expectations of what a Hampton Inn should be. The restaurant we usually recommend is Vincent's Clam Bar. They do a great job with our guests and we've had many positive Trip Advisor comments about this restaurant as well. Their portions are large which work out since you will be able to use our in room microwave and refrigerator for an extra meal.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a great stay here. From the staff to the breakfast, everything was great. The pool, however, (stated as an indoor pool,) was not warm enough to keep up with the cold air sneaking in thru the exterior doors. The pool towels were more like large wash-cloths. Not a deal breaker, just a tad annoying. The room towels could have been a bit better as well. Now, to the TV....
Hotels today use the TV to sell movies and to show off their facilities. I get that. What I don't like are the steps needed to navigate around the TV menu just to watch a show. Also, a menu appeared showing the "adult" movies available when we were trying to watch a HBO movie. Hello? Children need to see this? Again, not unique to Hampton/Hilton hotels, but I have better things to do then going thru a learning curve just to watch a movie!
I did like the large fridge and microwave in the room. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, well-run hotel at a good price!

Room Tip: Great location. Everything you need is on Old Country Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. We have been having some problems with the pool heater (which has since been replaced) and may be the reason the pool was not as warm as it should be. Certainly the opening of the Courtyard doors in the pool area does not help as well. The pool towels I do agree are quite small but are a Hampton standard. I also know most brands are starting to get away from Pay movies and Pay video games. With the use of I-phones and I-pads this amenity is no longer an item that guests feel they should pay for.
I appreciate your team, thank you for the 5 star rating and am glad you will recommend us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have lost track of how many different Hampton Inns I have experienced, and this one compares to one of the finest yet. It's such a comfort to know that when you have selected a brand, that the quality control in the organization shows throughout. Rooms are quiet, clean and well appointed; the breakfast choices give us just what we're looking for (we are oil-free vegans and love the home cooked oatmeal with dried fruit); and the locations are always convenient. Will continue to choose Hampton Inn first whenever we are confronted with options.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floor keeps you away from the atrium over the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. It's nice to see that our Hampton rates amongst the best that you've stayed at. We certainly do whatever possible to keep up with this great brand and I'm delighted it gets noticed.
Please stay with us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel was in a good location. Staff was efficient, but not too friendly. Rooms spacious, plenty of towels. Quiet, although I could hear someone walking overhead.

The room seemed dark to me, even with all of the lights on! Maybe a strategically-placed higher watt bulb would be in order. Hotel starting to look a bit "tired", i.e., brighter paint, carpeting may need updated. However, the hotel was clean.

Coffee in the lobby was good. Didn't use the breakfast area, but it looked fine. Lobby was nice to sit and have coffee and glance at the free USA today papers.

Staff offered "breakfast to go" bags at the front desk in the morning. Nice touch. They also had a small food-buying area.

Fitness area had a couple of pieces of equipment not in "top working order", but I got my workout done. Headphones were provided (wrapped in plastic) if you wanted to use the TVs on the equipment. I appreciated that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. Please accept my apologies for the lighting and darkness of your room. As I type this our rooms are going through a renovation that includes being repainted with a brighter accent wall, brighter bathroom wallpaper and all new guest lighting.
We plan on completing the entire hotel by January 1st and hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

All in all our experience was very good and we have stayed there again. However, there was a lack of hot water in the bath (corrected on second stay and we were not charged for the first nights stay. Also, we found the use of only paper coffee cups for beverages penny wise and pound foolish. We also felt that it was somewhat pricy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I understand you also completed our Hilton survey as well on both the hot water and paper cup issue. We have recently replaced one of our hot water heaters in the hotel hence the reason your second stay was better than the first. As for the cups we are required by brand standard to have only wrapped, eco-friendly cold and hot beverage cups in our rooms. Plastic and/or glass are not brand standards for our Hilton Brand.
Thank you for the feeback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had a great experience at this Hampton Inn. The front desk staff were great. I came down to grab some coffee and they remembered me by name. I also loved the courtesy call left on my voicemail. That was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. it's always a great feeling when any customer service person remembers a guest/customer name. We pride ourselves on training our staff to 'connect' with our guests and it's nice to see that it is paying off.
We lok forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden City

Address: 1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Garden City is the perfect location for travelers looking to experience the best of Long Island and Manhattan. Guests can enjoy a range of local attractions from shopping at Roosevelt Field Mall to a round of golf at Eisenhower Park or a romantic dinner in downtown Garden City. Travelers looking for a weekend escape can enjoy a day on the ocean at Captree State Park or relax on the shores of Jones Beach. Check out a concert at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum or swimming meet at the Nassau County Aquatic Center.Guests looking to head into the city are walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road which allows easy access to the city via Penn Station. Our hotel is close to Hofstra, Adelphi and other local colleges and universities making us the perfect hotel for graduation weekends or big games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden City Hotel Garden City
Garden City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.