We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer at the Hampton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Garden City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garden City, United States
1 review
“Summer at the Hampton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for 5 nights during our visit east, and it was a wonderful experience. The front desk was friendly, helpful, and efficient. The breakfast each day was varied and plentiful. The rooms, fitness center, and breakfast area were all very clean at all times. Just a wonderful family place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that you had a great stay and that our staff treated you well. Good customer service is sometimes hard to find and we're certainly lucky to have the team that we have.
I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    102
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
119
46
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed overnight for a quick local weekend getaway. The lobby was nicely furnished and the buffett looked good, although we didn't have time for breakfast. The indoor pool was clean and our little one had a good time splashing around. It's definitely off the beaten path, so follow their directions, not your GPS.

Room Tip: Our view overlooked the back patio area and part of the parking lot. That doesn't really matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you taking the time out to compete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it's too bad you missed our breakfast. I'm glad your family was able to enjoy our heated indoor pool.
Again,thanks for the great comments and I hope you will allow us to serve you the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Clean indoor pool, decent buffet breakfast included in rate, free (good quality) coffee all day in the lobby. The staff are very accommodating and the service is excellent. Very convenient to stores and businesses (everything from WalMart and Wendy's to high-end shopping and restaurants), but even more important, it's a SAFE area, and the hotel sits back from the main road, so it's quiet. Not necessarily the cheapest option for Long Island, but definitely worth the price. BTW, pay attention to the directions given on the hotel website; a lot of people have trouble finding the hotel with GPS.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest (fourth) floor, as far away from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSTON, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you are looking for a good hotel go here. Clean effiecient. Awsome Staff. Friendly and courteous. Myself and about 10 other couples enjoyed our stay. We have been using another hotel in the area the first weekend in August for the past eight years. I will not mention the name but none of us will ever go back there. We enjoyed the room the breakfast security and pleasantness of this facility

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
WOW!!!! Thanks so much for the great comments about our hotel and staff. We do get quite a lot of people that switch from area hotels to our property and have told me the same about our team. I'm quite fortunate to have them.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff is unbelievable. Amazing service. I will continue to stay here as long as I can!!! The front desk staff is on point, efficient, and are amazing when you check in. The front desk agent that checked me in when I went up remembered me from last year from my wedding. I broke my cake topper and asked her for crazy glue. She remembers how nervous I was. She had a smile on her face when I arrived and welcomed me back. The entire staff did an absolute amazing job with not only the check ins and outs, but with the demands of the people staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for completing our Trip Advisor survey. I appreciate the great comments about our team and the great service you received. I also want to thank you again for completing our Hilton survey. We share all comments with our team.
Thanks again for the great survey and hope to see you soon the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were staying for a wedding from out of town. Even with the email the Hotel sent out, the GPS, all 3 I used could not locate the Hotel. Brought us to a dead end twice. The rooms itself were nice, and I would have recommended this hotel to someone, but I would not want them to have to go through what we did. Over 4 hours from Philadelphia to NY.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. Please accept my apologies for the problems you experienced getting to our hotel via GPS. This unfortunately is our biggest obstacle as there are 2 North Aves in Garden City. We have recently changed all our GPS direction information to 800 E. Gate Blvd since we have been successful in getting our guests to the hotel using that.
Again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spacious breakfast area and well organized. It was very busy every morning of my stay and the food was alwys full and replenished very quickly. The hotel gives complementary cookies at night which are delicious and are freshly made !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for completing our Trip Advisor survey Melissa. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast. It takes special people to keep that area going at all times. Approximately 92% of our guests do have our complimentary breakfast so keeping up with the operation is not always easy especially on weekends when most guests come to the area between 9am-10am.
I hope you wil consider us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden City

Address: 1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Garden City is the perfect location for travelers looking to experience the best of Long Island and Manhattan. Guests can enjoy a range of local attractions from shopping at Roosevelt Field Mall to a round of golf at Eisenhower Park or a romantic dinner in downtown Garden City. Travelers looking for a weekend escape can enjoy a day on the ocean at Captree State Park or relax on the shores of Jones Beach. Check out a concert at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum or swimming meet at the Nassau County Aquatic Center.Guests looking to head into the city are walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road which allows easy access to the city via Penn Station. Our hotel is close to Hofstra, Adelphi and other local colleges and universities making us the perfect hotel for graduation weekends or big games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden City Hotel Garden City
Garden City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.