We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Garden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Garden City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Garden City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brownsburg, IN, United States
1 review
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very helpful and friendly, the hampton inn staff does make you feel like VIP guest. Front desk agents did their best to accomodate my needs. hampton inn has a free buffet breakfast, good quality and has a large selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that the staff treated you well. As you know it's not easy to find good people and we are lucky to have the team we have in place.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    102
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
119
46
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Closter, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I would recommend this hotel, or any in the Hampton Inn chain. A great value! The complimentary breakfast is an added bonus. Everything has been updated in the hotel. The lobby is beautiful, rooms are cleanm food is good and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for completing our Trip Advisor survey. It's always a pleasure to hear great comments about our hotel and staff. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall the hotel was pretty good. The room and bathroom were very clean. TV Remote was not in working order for 2 days & pool was not able to be used. The complimentary breakfast was ok, but meat was not provided very often. The location was great, since our daughter will be starting college nearby, and that is the reason we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but apologize for the remote control not working for 2 days. This is something our Housekeeping staff should have caught while cleaning the room. I look forward to you returning to the property whenever you come visit your daughter.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Call for the GPS address and directions. It is very difficult to find.. . right off of Old Country Road, near Norstrom rack, Roosevelt field, etc. Nice Hampton Inn (once you find it). Near courts, shopping, etc. .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. Please accept my apologies for the trouble you were having finding our hotel via GPS. We now ask our guests to enter 800 E. Gate Blvd and proceed west on North Ave. With 2 North Aves in Garden City and many different GPS models out there we find it difficult to give out the 1 North Ave or 700 North Ave directions for GPS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice and clean, friendly staff and clean pool. Good breakfast with polite staff. Great location near major highways allowing easy access to the rest of Long Island. Close to Jones Beach. We enjoyed our stay and would visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff treated you well. It's always great to get positive guest comments. I will certainly share this with our team.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The front desk people, both night & morning shifts, have the WRONG attitude for customer service!! No," I'm sorry" I gave you the wrong address for your GPS causing you to sit in traffic for an additional 45 minutes, no" I am sorry" you discovered a bug crawling in your bed in the morning. What I was told " it's not a bed bug & it happens because we are near water" Really!!
I asked to speak with the manager but, he was not onsite. I left my business card & asked to be called...I'm still waiting! Apparently, customer service is not important to mangement either. I called back 2 days later & left a message to speak to the manager. Not to forget the noisey upstairs people who woke me up at midnight. I will NEVER stay at this Hampton Inn. If you need a hotel in this area stay at the Hyatt next door. My annoyance prompted me to write my first ever review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to complete out Trip Advisor survey. I'm sorry the lack of service on our part prompted you to complete it so negatively. Unfortunately I did not receive any information on what occurred during your stay but certainly want to speak to you about it and person. If you would please contact me at 516-227-2720 ext 2004 or joe.rosanio@hilton.com I would appreciate it.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The employees were all friendly, professional, and helpful. The rooms were clean and decent sized. The problems were the complimentary breakfast was mediocre -- the scrambled eggs tasted like the "peanuts" used in packaging and the sausage was very poor quality. Lastly, the air conditioner was too noisy and made sleeping somewhat difficult

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted to hear that the staff treated you well during your last stay. You mentioned the scrambled eggs and sausage were not good. All our breakfast items are Hamton brand standard and in fact the scrambled eggs were changed by Hampton about a year ago. These items are all cooked in a convection oven so there is no room to make any changes. Please also accept my apologies for the noisy AC unit in your room. We do frequent cleaning on these units and it is possoble that the PTAC cover was not attached correctly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden City

Address: 1 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Garden City is the perfect location for travelers looking to experience the best of Long Island and Manhattan. Guests can enjoy a range of local attractions from shopping at Roosevelt Field Mall to a round of golf at Eisenhower Park or a romantic dinner in downtown Garden City. Travelers looking for a weekend escape can enjoy a day on the ocean at Captree State Park or relax on the shores of Jones Beach. Check out a concert at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum or swimming meet at the Nassau County Aquatic Center.Guests looking to head into the city are walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road which allows easy access to the city via Penn Station. Our hotel is close to Hofstra, Adelphi and other local colleges and universities making us the perfect hotel for graduation weekends or big games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden City Hotel Garden City
Garden City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.