We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akbar Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akbar Restaurant
2 South St, Garden City, NY 11530-4801
516-357-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Akbar Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 109 restaurants in Garden City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Zhenjiang, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything here is out of this world! I love the buffet they have, especially because it is always changing. I'm so impressed with the spread they put out. Their chicken tikka masala is wonderful! And I love their saag paneer. The servers are nice and really concientous about bringing water around. And I could eat so much of their naan, I could burst!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    13
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Delicious every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I've never had a bad experience here. Everything is fantastic. Their buffet changes all the time. Love their butter chicken/chicken tikka masala. The chicken is tender all white meat and I eat way too much of it cause its so good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Solid choice for a buffet lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We decided to go to Akbar for a buffet lunch and were not disappointed. The food was fresh and well prepared, and the staff polite and efficient. Not every dish that we sampled was top notch, but some were outstanding. Given the Sunday price, it may or may not be a good value for you, but overall we feel it was a good choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MY AUNTS RESTUARANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My aunt owns this restuarant but shes a far aunt but I went here for the first time on new years and i must admit i really did enjoy it was a fun experience and its really beautiful inside, I like that there is a lot of room and its great for parties and banquets :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best Ethnic Indian Food in US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you happen to go shopping at Roosevelt Field in Nassau County, New York, bordering to the shopping center you will find Akbar Restaurant, one of the epic ethnic Indian places in the country. The atmosphere is friendly, warm and comfortable, service is efficient, high quality and discrete and the food is distilled to the best Indian Cuisine has to offer. Owner frequently comes to welcome the guests and makes sure service and food quality are very good. They also cater and use their ballroom for weddings and parties. It's a place you will want to keep coming back to, and the price is reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Restaurant also viewed

 
Garden City, NY
 

Been to Akbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akbar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.