We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Wingate Inn, Garden City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Stewart Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved the Wingate Inn, Garden City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

I loved my stay at the Wingate. The front desk staff was very friendly. There is also alot to do in the area. I loved the bar at night and the free snacks in the lobby every night. I don't know if I will be in the area again, but if I am I will be at the Wingate Inn.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    29
    13
    12
See reviews for
68
22
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

good clean hotel, free internet, just basic hotel, front desk staff too young to offer that high level service. Overall good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

The hotel itself is nice , I can't fault a thing. However, I couldn't sleep any of the two nights I stayed due to the constant drone of an airconditioning or heating unit outside.

I did change rooms, but this didn't help. I'm quite sensitive to noise whereas other people in my group didn't have any problems

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

Pleasant, clean rooms, quiet, decent continental buffet breakfast, business center with free photocopies and two computers, free shuttle to the Long Island Railroad, 10 minutes away. No restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

I just recently flew in from out of town for a friends wedding in Long Island. The total wedding group had rented out over 30 rooms at the hotel. The check in was very quick on a busy saturday. The hotel was oversold but there was no problem with our rooms. The lobby was very nice as it had a very nice lobby area, small pool and hot tub downstairs and a free continental breakfast in the morning. We stayed in a one bedroom king size room. The room was great. The room was extremely clean and everything was functioning in the room as it was suppose to. The room had access to internet and also pay per view movies. Also, a few other bonuses were that the room with the KingSize bed came with a pullout couch which game the room a more homey feel. Finally, the KingSize bed room also had a small fridge/Freezer combo which was great to keep drinks and snacks cold. In the morning, the wedding couple ordered a special breakfast buffet in the two downstairs conference centers which included French Toast, Eggs, Sausage, Bacon, Potatoes, Fresh Fruit, Bagels, Fresh Juice and all fresh linens. The food and service was excellent.

I have read reviews from other trip advisor members about this hotel where other wedding parties have stayed and I think that if you are planning for a hotel to host a wedding party/group, this is the hotel for you. Everything was great. Also, this hotel is in close proximities to some restaraunts, the mall, and a mobil station so food or entertainment is close by. Finally, the shuttle service that was arranged by the hotel to and from the reception hall was great so noone had to drink and drive. WinnGate INN Garden City was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2004

Stayed here in June for 2 nights for wedding on Long Island. Nice hotel, friendly staff, large and very comfortable rooms, nice bathrooms. Great mall within 10 mins walk and nice deli next door.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2003

I booked out-of-town guests (10-15 rooms) here for my wedding in Aug.
2003. From the start, the sales associate was very professional and accomodating. I obsessed about the details of the rooms, the rates, the service - as well as my own suite, yet she always responded promptly and courteously. My suite was perfect: subtle elegance, clean, everything brand new and comfortable. Breakfast was like a social event for my guests as they felt comfortable to lounge there and in the lobby afterwards. The managers and rest of the front desk were always helpful and nice. I'll remember the Wingate Inn to be very instrumental to the success of my wedding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City

Address: 821 Stewart Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City Hotel Garden City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Garden City
La Quinta Garden City
Garden City La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.