We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Satisfying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rein Restaurant at Garden City Hotel - CLOSED

Rein Restaurant at Garden City Hotel
45 7th St, Garden City, NY 11530-2807
516-747-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stewart Avenue
Transit: LIRR - Garden City
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Elegant, Satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

A bit pricey but good food and outstanding service. Expect to pay over $100 a person with wine, appetizers and dessert. The food was well-prepared and the menu had a nice variety of selections, plus some specials. And you're not likely to get better service anywhere. Great for special occasions. Elegant, classy ambience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rvc, ny
1 review
“good atmosphere, wedding hall food, shady accounting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I booked a party of 9 here for lunch on a saturday. The room is comfortable and the service was fine. The food was not great but the part that really made me mad was the fact that they too a $100 deposit when I made the reservation--it cleared from my bank account--and they "forgot" to apply this to my check. I called later and the girl who answered told me to call accounting on Monday, which I did. I got two voicemails, one with a 2 month old "out of office" reply. I called the GMs office and spoke to a nice woman who said she would forward my complaint. I also want to add that nothing incenses me more than when a 20% tip is already included on the check and they present it as if it isn't, I suppose they would like us to fill in a second tip in the hopes that we didn't read the bill. Totally shady.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Sophisticated setting; good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Went here for the first time this week for a celebratory lunch. The restaurant itself has a very nice, elegant "club" feel to it with an equally nice bar. Two of our group of three opted for the "business lunch," which includes selected appetizers, entrees and desserts for $29.95. Another ordered from the regular lunch menu. If you are, in fact, tempted by the choices on the business lunch menu , it is a good deal relative to the regular menu. I started with the parsnip veloute with shrimp, the short rib and blue cheese sandwich and a berry dessert. All three were excellently prepared. Another in the group had the scallops and yet another ordered the grilled gruyere and prosciutto sandwich. Everyone was happy with their choices. All were well-executed. Service was attentive but not overbearing. The wine list is notable but beware: it trends toward high-end wines. That said, there is something for everyone on it; I would, however, recommend that they expand the list at the low to medium end.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne,New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service,wonderful food and perfect ambience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

High end restaurant in a lovely hotel. Not for "Pub Lovers" - quiet elegance.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Frozen crab claws. Frozen lobster tails. Poor service. Artificial substitute for drawn butter. Cocktail sauce was nothing more than chili sauce. Virgin bloody marys. Dessert was little more than store bought cookies and the same chocolate fountain you can find at Golden Corral. Not worth the trip or the expense - which includes a mandatory 18% tip for buffet service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rein Restaurant at Garden City Hotel also viewed

Garden City, Long Island
East Meadow, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rein Restaurant at Garden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.