We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Garden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Garden City to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Garden City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great place to stay. Quite nearby the all the main attractions. Very clean hotel, didn't have time to eat the free breakfast but it looked very good. Very well parking, front and rear entrance. Beautiful pool. 24/7 room service site affordable prices. No delivery charged added

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, General Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I want to thank you for your business and taking the time out to let everyone know. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! Maybe next time when you come back you will try our skillet breakfast. Again thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    64
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
58
24
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is just outside NYC, driving is much easier here. The hotel is beautiful, our room was excellent. When we were checking in we were asking about places to eat. Samuel suggested Vincent's Clam Bar, he gave us a business card to present, he said we would get seated right away and get special treatment. We did get seated right away and got a free appetizer and free dessert. We really did get excellent service here and I am so glad he suggested it. Our stay included a hot breakfast, it consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal, cold cereal, fruits, yogurts, cottage cheese, rolls, muffins, toast, and doughnuts. They have a pool but no hot tub. That is the only reason I gave a 4 out of 5. I do love hot tubs. And there was a frig but no microwave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Once again was visiting family in the area so we stayed at the Hyatt Garden City. Quick check in, clean and spacious rooms. Plenty of breakfast choices, also good options for the healthy minded. Pool was open and fun. Fitness center was satisfactory for a hotel, had to wait for equipment at peek tin in the morning, otherwise no problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Lucky that a new outlet mall has opened next to it as otherwise there's none to see or do much around by foot. There's Shake Shack yummy burgers! An Italian restaurant, also an Asian noodle place. Shopping is great! Nordstrom rack - really good buys, Bloomingdales I think if not mistaken, Trader Joes for some groceries and deli stuff too , Staples etc. Staff were friendly, always quick to help! Breakfast was s fair selection. I made a mistake though that I booked a room for handicapped . Unfortunately they were full they say and couldn't change to any room. I didn't know what "ada" meant in the first place. Very spacious room, very big sofa but it just smelled old and musty. ...I think its time to renovate their rooms. I was there for work so didn't really stay long here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great location for visiting family in the area. Hard working housekeeping kept everything shipshape, room was a good size and clean. The bed was a little soft for my taste but worked
out ok. The only issue that caused me distress was the in room heating system, it was very noisy and it cycled all the time. I tried all sorts of fan/temp combos but nothing worked, could not turn it off, so it took a long while to fall asleep.

Room Tip: High floor and away from the elevator is the best idea, we had a wonderful sunset from our room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on business at least 5 separate occasions. I have stayed in 5 different rooms. Each room you go into the rooms are musty and smell damp. Auto feature on the thermostat just doesn't seem to work as no matter what temp you put it at , the thermostat doesn't shut off when it gets to temperature. So, I had to shut off the thermostat and hope I don't freeze during the night. Not sure why as Long Island NY is not a "humid" place like Florida or the deep south. The staff is very kind, professional and accommodating but the musty rooms cannot be addressed by a front staff person. Breakfast is good with something different than just premade eggs and cod sausage like other hotels. Open spaces are very nice and pool and fitness room are both very good.

Room Tip: Ask the front person if the room you are being given is musty or not. Also, there are two different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, Long Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Overall the start was ok. Very nice front staff. The biggest issue I had was that the hallway and rooms were musty. I switched rooms and let air conditioning run for hours. Didn't help. I was on the fifth floor. It was an overpowering carpet fresh like smell. As nice as the staff and rooms were I wouldn't stay again due to the smell.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Garden City

Address: 5 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Garden City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Garden City is walking distance to over 60 restaurants and two large malls. It’s ideally situated near top Long Island colleges. The Long Island Rail Road is within walking distance. Hotel features spacious guestrooms with Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, indoor pool, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Garden City Hotel Garden City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.