We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend for a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Garden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Garden City to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Garden City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great weekend for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice room, sleeps 6. Not has much privacy as I would have liked, but we managed.
Staff very helpful and polite. Room clean and bright. Lots of towels and blankets. Don't hesitant to book this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    64
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
58
24
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My son recently got married on Long Island, and our family chose the Hyatt Garden City as our group accommodations location. The hotel is beautiful, the staff friendly, the breakfast better than most. The rooms are larger than most any I've stayed in (and that would be quite a number), and the bed was particularly comfortable. Every room has a "living area" with a very large couch and desk and small bar. I would especially commend the sales manager, Jackie Teter, who helped me throughout my booking process for a whole group of guests. A few weeks before the wedding, I traveled to the area for another related event, and Jackie was so kind as to provide wonderful accommodations even at our group contracted rate though it was not the wedding weekend. That was above and beyond, I felt, and it was much appreciated. In short, the Hyatt could not have been more accommodating in every way. I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in the area, and I plan to return there myself when in the area visiting the "new inlaws" . Thanks to Jackie and all her staff for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms on two different trips--each equally comfortable and quiet. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Garden city on Long Island isn't somewhere you would probably end up If you were doing a two week holiday of the states.
We had a wedding to go to so we ended up here.
We stayed three nights at the Hyatt Place, it would have been a nice hotel to perhaps stay one night passing thru.

The rooms were huge after spending four nights in a shoe box in manhattan, they were clean and very well maintained.
The self serve laundry, free wifi, the P.C,s with printers ( we needed to print out yankee tickets) and the cafe was a handy extras.
Breakfast was included in our room which was very reasonably priced, but breakfast was chaotic and the little choices were not well stocked and were often empty.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel on 4th of July weekend, as we were visiting relatives close by. We had a nice stay. I remember reading one review from somebody mentioning that it wasn't Hyatt material and maybe that rings true a little bit but it also was the best deal I found while searching for a hotel in the area. I am not normally a traveler who stays in luxury hotels very often but this was such a good deal that it made sense to stay here. So, while it didn't have that "luxury" feel to it, it didn't have the "luxury" price either. Perfect for us.
The staff were personable, very warm. The hotel was clean. There was no street noise. The pool, although small, was very nice and food was good at breakfast. The TV was very large and I liked the separate sitting area.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night after a wedding. The front desk staff is Excellent. Very nice rooms. Comfy beds. Breakfast in the morning was good too. I'd certainly recommend this to anyway looking for a hotel in the Garden City area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have family on Long Island and whenever we need to stay in a hotel, this is our choice. The hotel has a very modern vibe. We love the rooms. They have an open concept room with a room divider and a flat screen tv you can watch on the sectional in the living area or from the bed. The rooms have always been immaculate. They also have a nice desk which can really form a small business center. The tv also is equipped to display computer equipment. The room also has a small built in bar with fridge. The service upon check-in has always been excellent and efficient. They have breakfast until 10, but we have not had it, so I can't review. They have a bar space in the lobby where you can get drinks and other food items until midnight. The only real downside to this hotel is its location which is down this dark road behind industrial type buildings. It does not have a great outside impression, but the inside certainly makes up for that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a block of rooms reserved at Hyatt Place for our daughter's wedding. We've stayed at several Hyatts before and thought we knew what to expect - wrong. Our room was tiny and this is at an all suites hotel. Each day at breakfast, I had to request more plates, silverware, food items. They were not on top of things. Our light was out over our dressing area from day one and it was never fixed. I didn't even get the USA Today every day; I was told it was available only for gold Hyatt members. We paid more than $160/per night and it was definitely not worth it. The only thing going for it is location. It was very near the wedding venue and Roosevelt Field Mall. It did have a nice in-door pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, General Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback on the hotel.
About 99% of our rooms are over-sized Junior Suites. There are minimal corner rooms that are smaller than the others which you had stayed in. With the hotel sold out during the time frame we have to use all rooms of this hotel as these rooms are the last to be occupied.
As I am sure you can understand with 100% occupancy and trying to feed over 300 people at one time we are going to turnover plates, silverware and food items a few times.
We have complimentary USA Today that is not delivered that our guest can help themselves at the front desk. We do however deliver the Wall Street Journal to rooms that join our Hyatt Gold Passport rewards during the week.
We appreciate your comments and we strive at Hyatt Place Garden City to improve our customer service levels.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Garden City

Address: 5 North Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Garden City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Garden City is walking distance to over 60 restaurants and two large malls. It’s ideally situated near top Long Island colleges. The Long Island Rail Road is within walking distance. Hotel features spacious guestrooms with Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, indoor pool, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Garden City Hotel Garden City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.