We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving all year long!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winslow's Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Winslow's Diner
Wilton Rd, Gansevoort, NY 12831
518-584-2489
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Gansevoort
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving all year long!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Gotta have the Turkey Dinner. The meal is a complete thanksgiving dinner with all the sides you can think of mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sauce just to name a few. A real treat and the price is very reasonable. They have other foods on the menu, but my choice is the turkey dinner. Only downside is the seating is very limited due to a small dining room.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, especially the turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Can get crowded from about 6 to 8, so try and get there early, 4 to 5 pm. Turkey is their specialty. Can get a nice diner and pay anywhere from $10 to $30+ depending on what you order.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

By all means make reservations for this locals destination spot. The food is wonderful and the staff attentive. The turkey dinner is the signature meal and it doesn't disappoint. It's one of our favorite "comfort food" places to eat in the Saratoga Springs area.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite area restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Some of the bad reviews I've read here seem like they must be from someone with an axe to grind. I've been to Winslow's more often than probably any other restaurant, and the experience is always a good one. Occasionally it gets so busy that there is a wait, but that's because it's so good! Although their famous turkey is always delicious, I usually choose one of the specials prepared by the CIA-trained chef and owner. Always a treat! Virtually everyone I know goes there. It's quaint and - most importantly -the food is great! If you're looking for mass-produced meals, head to your local chain restaurant. If you're looking for an enjoyable home-cooked meal, go to Winslow's.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ANTS 0N THE FOOD!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

SLOOOOW SERVICE
Apparently they think they are a 5 star restaurant because they want you to make reservations and frowned at us when we walked in and asked to be seated, BUT that was the least of our experience. The Hamburger platter came with 15 ants. Yes, ants, all scrambling around on my sons plate. The staff kinda just brushed the incident off. Took 20 minutes before he had another Hamburger platter AND they had the balls to charge us for his burger! Will NEVER eat there again. You won't want to either, may just have lots of ant in your meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winslow's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Winslow's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winslow's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.