We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Out from the Cock'n Bull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cock 'n Bull Restaurant

Cock 'n Bull Restaurant
Parkis Mills Rd, Galway, NY 12074
(518) 882-6962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 restaurants in Galway
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Galway, New York
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Take Out from the Cock'n Bull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

For a change we did take out from the Cock'n Bull Restaurant - if you go there expect to be there a long time - service is very slow - for take out it was only a half an hour wait - I had the sirloin Teriyaki with cheese mashed potatoes and zucchini my husband had the Delmonico steak with a baked potato - I had the spinach salad and my husband the garden salad.
Did not come with bread - maybe with take out you do not get it!
Both dinners were good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    18
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a rustic out of the way restaurant with very good food and service. It's essentially a very old barn. There are a couple of fireplaces that would probably be great on a cold winter night. Since we ate here on a warm summer night, we just enjoyed the atmosphere. All 4 in our party had a different entree- steak, chicken, ribs and a BBQ sandwich. Everyone was more than satisfied.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Wednesday night is jam night with area musicians jamming in the dining room! Had an excellent meal, great apps, salad and entrees! Not very busy but that was ok! Service was wonderful and very attentive. Had baked stuffed shrimp and was very tasty. Companions ordered duck which looked great. Also ordered Atlantic Char and also looked great. Good choice for dinner on a Wednesday night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Know when to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have gone many times to the cock and bull, one I took my inlaws they were hooked. The food is good, we tend to find the best results are thurs-Sunday. The first night we tried was a Monday, and didn't enjoy it so well, but then we went back at the insistence of a friend who had recommended it. It was worth the trip back, now I highly recommend it. They always have interesting specials and apps as well! I have always gotten one of the specials because something always catches my eye.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“TREASURE IN THE COUNTRY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our monthly pick was a little drive from the Albany area this time but the results were great. Our dinner friends and my wife had been to The Cock 'N Bull manybyears ago but this was my first time. Just loved the country atmosphere and numerous fireplaces within the restaurant. The bar service was excellent and a crowd was beginning to build. After our pre dinner drinks we were seated for dinner. Our server, Kayleigh did an exceptional job as she was attentive and friendly. We shared brushetta which was exceptional. Our salads were fresh and delicious. My steak teriyaki, potatoes & vegetables were perfect. My wife's sliced sirlion was equally done. Our friends were quite happy with their dinners too. Too full for dessert but a cup on fresh brewed coffee was the perfect ending. I would highly refer anyone to make the drive to galway for a wonderful dining experience. We'll be sure to dine here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock 'n Bull Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cock 'n Bull Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock 'n Bull Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.