We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another victim” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wildfish Restaurant

Wildfish Restaurant
507 Guy Lombardo Ave, Freeport, NY 11520-6246
516-442-0565
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 79 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Front Street
Description: Coming Soon!
Freeport, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another victim”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hurrican Sandy flooded this restaurand to. It's a shame. The owners ried to make a neighborhood tavern and turn it into a nice restaurant. Hopefully they'll rebuild.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Amazing all year round, food and the service was great. We parked on the street. The weather was prefect, had window seating viewing the canal. The meals were very tasty. Always will to come back for more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport NY
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Wildfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is right around the corner from the Nautical Mile of Freeport. It's worth taking a walk to. We like the large glassed in wondow with great views of the canal.

The food is good and the place is a good choice during the slower winter months beacuse of the large plateglass window pffering a bright sunny view.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great seafood, even better ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We love this restaurant. Took our friends last night and everyone enjoyed their meals thoroughly. During the winter, they offer a price fixed menu for $20 and it was fantastic. We also noticed on the menu another winter special - Fridays, they offer a price fixed loster special. There was a party going on and the room was loud but fun with a DJ and people dancing and singing. We've been there before in the summertime at the outdoor bar and seating. Sundays are good outdoors because of the entertainment. Parking not so great, but always a spot on the street. Service with a smile.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Water's Edge dining + really tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I found out about Wildfish via the Pit Stop in Merrick, which is a GREAT joint (it was featured on the Food Network show "Diners Drive-Ins and Dives), when the owner told us that he opened this upscale place. it's really great and I totally recommend it.

We had the option of sitting indoors or outside on the patio. The evening was perfect for outside dining. Our waiter, Christian, was very attentive. A bread basket featured a garlic bread with melted cheese in addition to some artisan rolls. We were given a little complimentary pasta salad that the chef was working on as a starter too....

The crab cakes were good. Three cakes for $16 dollars....my husband tried the New England Chowder. The soup was the only disappointment - very thin and not a lot of clams. For entrees, I did the Ahi Tuna and my husband had Diver Scallops. Both dishes were very, very good. We also shared the Brownie sundae for dessert.

Freeport has a lot of restaurants, but not a lot of really good food. Forget the Nautical Mile and try Wildfish, right on Guy Lombardo Avenue across the water from the Freeport Yacht Club.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildfish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wildfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildfish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.