We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday Dinner-excellent dessert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellicottville Brewing Company

Ellicottville Brewing Company
34 W. Main Street, Fredonia, NY 14063
+1 716-679-7939
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Fredonia
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: EBC West is a full service "gastro-pub" style restaurant offering locally brewed EBC beers not found at elsewhere in the area. Located in beautiful downtown Fredonia, our friendly and knowledgeable staff create a lively, comfortable atmosphere.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great birthday Dinner-excellent dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Some friends took me here on my birthday. I got a free pint of the Oatmeal stout, amazing. We got the spinach dip for an appetizer, unfortunately it was awful. It tasted liked warmed up cream cheese with unmelted Parmesan in it. That was the only downfall, everything else was superior. They brought out an amazing raspberry crumb cheesecake for my dessert. They even had on a good Sirius indie rock station. Great birthday Dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Ok in March, 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

At here in March of 2013 on a Thursday night. Seated on the second level.
Service was a touch slow. but very friendly.
Blue berry Wheat Beer was amazingly refreshing, Who knew blue berries would pair with beer so well. Pale ale had a great hop level to it... I should've taken a 6 pack to go!
Fried fish was "wow", huge!! Could've fed two...
Pepper hamburger was a solid 7/10.
Next time we are travelling to Erie or Buffalo we will stop in here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pub Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped in on a Saturday night, the wait for a table was about 10 minutes. EBC is in a narrow, two story space so it can be pretty loud when they are busy. Service was fast and friendly, prices were reasonable and they have an extensive selection of beer, wine and mixed drinks. Free parking is available in a large lot almost directly behind EBC.

We will definitely consider EBC the next time we are in downtown Fredonia and looking for a restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My favorite beer is Wheat Blueberry. Served in a tall glass with frozen blueberries. They have beer pairing nights. There is a fee, but it is so much fun. The wait staff has always been very good. My husband says the prices are high, but I feel that they are decent. The staff is very knowledgeable about the beers and answer questions thoroughly. Please take the time to stop even if it's to have a brew or appetizer or dinner it will be well worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Terrible service, Great beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Went for beers after dinner on a Saturday night. The waitstaff and bartender were flat our rude. The place was EMPTY, which really confused me because it was a Saturday in a college town. Well the overpriced beers and terrible waitstaff are probably why the college crowd steers clear of this place.

Now, the beers were awesome. So if you just want a good beer you should check this place out, but don't expect friendly staff or a lively place. For that, go across the street to the better bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellicottville Brewing Company also viewed

Fredonia, Chautauqua County
Fredonia, Chautauqua County
 
Fredonia, Chautauqua County
Fredonia, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Ellicottville Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellicottville Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.