We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1106 Route 9 West, Fort Montgomery, NY 10922   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

From what I can tell, this is the only chain hotel in the West Point area, except for a rough looking Econolodge. This place is only 6 years old and is very nice. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bath towels were attractively displayed in the bathroom. We had a 'Jr Suite' which had a king and sofabed. The bathroom is spacious. There was a mini-kitchen with a sink, mini-fridge and microwave. The pool was much larger than I expected with ample chaise lounges and chairs. Could have used small tables as well. The breakfast was pretty good, little omlettes, scrambed eggs and bacon. Plenty of bagels, toast, etc. We ate at a local restaurant, Richie's Little Place, just down the road on 9W. It was very good, ample portions. My husband had a prime rib (avail on Thurs and Fridays) which was quite large, I had shrimp scampi. good sized shrimp, very tasty. Our son had chicken and ribs which was a large portion as well. Overall a good visit.

  • Liked — clean, friendly staff, pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
37
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles suburbs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

This hotel was selected for its convenient location to United States Military Academy at West Point. Our stay was short, only two nights, for my grandfather's funeral services. It had been over two decades since I visited the grounds at West Point and this hotel was perfect for our visit. The hotel was fairly new and in impeccable condition. Friendly staff and a delightful continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express because it was convenient to the United States Military Academy at West Point where we were visiting. The hotel is fairly new and is right on the main road into the Academy, just a few miles outside of the Highland Falls gate. We had a mini-suite and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was firm and there were plenty of towels in the nice-sized bathroom. The vent cover on the heating unit had a broken louvre and the hot water faucet was loose, but everything worked. Continental breakfast was included in the price of the room and we enjoyed our meal. The front desk staff members were very cordial. Overall, a good stay at a convenient location for our visit.

  • Liked — Convenient location and ease of access.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

We stayed at this property for 3 nights in April 2007 as part of a college visit to the USMA and visit to attractions in Hyde Park. Since we needed to be at the Military Academy NLT 8 am for the college visit, we wanted to stay someplace in or near West Point. My research showed that we had a choice of the Thayer Hotel (too expensive), several motels (too basic) and the Holiday Inn Express (just right).
The Holiday Inn Express had everything we were looking for--a quality accomodation with extras near West Point. The room had two queen-sized beds and was more spacious that I would have expected. It had a nice-sized bathroom with a good shower and lots of hot, hot water. The extra amenities included an indoor pool and sauna (open from 9am to 9pm) which we used a couple times and mostly had to ourselves; a small exercise room (open 5 am to 11pm) with a stationery bike, stairstepper and two treadmills which we used daily and always had to ourselves; and a business center with a computer and Internet access which was free to use. Included in the price of the room was an excellent breakfast buffet available in a nice lobby area with a fireplace, comfy seating and a big screen TV. Available for breakfast were 4 kinds of cold cereal, instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, doughnuts, a variety of fresh fruit, 4 kinds of juice, skim milk and 2% milk, tea, cocoa, coffee and...delicious warm cinnamon rolls that we could not resist! Finally, rounding out our requirements--the Holiday Inn Express was no more than a 5 minute drive from the West Point Visitors Center, the West Point Museum and Thayer Gate (where we needed to enter for our college visit.)
Our interaction with the staff was minimal, but check-in and check-out were efficient and the housekeeping staff had our room cleaned and ready for us each afternoon when we returned.
The only drawback to this property is that there is no whirlpool. The hotel's website lists "whirlpool" as a spa amenity, (along with the sauna located in the pool area) but the whirlpool next to the pool is empty and covered by wood and a fake grass carpet. The staff at the front desk said that some of the rooms have whirlpools, but that the whirlpool in the swimming complex has been shut down for the past 3 years.

  • Liked — The location and the excellent free breakfast
  • Disliked — The lack of a whirlpool in the indoor pool complex
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Address: 1106 Route 9 West, Fort Montgomery, NY 10922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fort Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point-Fort Montgomery is located on the scenic Hudson River less than 5 minutes from West Point - the premier USMA, the Historic Ft. Montgomery Battlefield Site, Bear Mountain State Park & Constitution Island. Holiday Inn Express welcomes you to Fort Montgomery. Visit West Point, NY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following West Point events: West Point Graduation, Reception Day, Acceptance Day, Army Football Games. Your comfort is important to us. This Holiday Inn Express hotel is 'Your Home Away From Home' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Point
Holiday Inn Fort Montgomery
Fort Montgomery Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.