We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very scenic and convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1106 Route 9 West, Fort Montgomery, NY 10922   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Langhorne, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very scenic and convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel one night recently, and quite enjoyed it. The location off 9W is very scenic and quiet, and less than 10 minutes to West Point, and maybe 17 to Peekskill.

The room was quiet, ample sized and comfortable. The thermostat was wall unit which made it very easy to control temps.

The pool was nice (indoor) and the fitness center seemed to be well used.

Breakfast was absolutely standard HIE fare, but with little kids, that's exactly what you want.

the location is off a minor highway (9W) and really easy to get to. We drove back and forth to Peekskill a couple times over some scenic and winding roads. If you fancy a hike, there are a couple great pull-overs where you can park and hike up to see great views of the Hudson and the little bridge that you cross. We went up to West Point to see the visitor center and museum and the hotel is perfectly situated for that, being less than 10 minutes away.

The staff at the hotel were quite pleasant.

All in all, a quality HIE (recognizing where in the Hotel food-chain this brand falls) with a beautiful location. I'd return if I was in the area. We paid with Priority points, and it did seem pricey for point redemption. I would not want to pay a lot of cash for this one like one reviewer did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
36
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Poor management Choose this hotel because it was close to West Point. After a hot long day at West Point went back to hotel to find the room just as we left it the beds not made and no clean towels we went down to the front desk. Nothing they could do but we did get some clean towels. The management never said anything to us or apologized.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear PuzzlesG,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the poor service you have received from our staff. We have noted these points and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for 1 night at this hotel. Hotel was very nicely decorated with modern furnishing. Extremely clean and super comfy bed. Staff was very nice and the pool looked great although I didn't try. My only gripe is the cost. At $170 for a king room in this area was a bit steep. The complimentary hot breakfast was nice however they should really rethink the layout of the serving area. Everything is layed out in a rather tight corner which results in traffic jam of people trying to get food. I gave up after a few minutes but managed to snag some coffee for the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

$174 for one night in a HIE! Way overpriced. The recently updated hotel was clean, nice decor, and is in a great location. Breakfast, was the usual bland HIE fare and for the cost they really need to add some items to the menu and improve the quality. Staff was pleasant. We chose this hotel because it had been recently updated and a clean hotel means everything to me. We were not disappointed, but felt that the price was out of line.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

For once, everything in the description of the hotel was on target. The indoor heated pool was great. The breakfast was well stocked. The rooms were comfortable and clean. An added bonus was the early check-in (upon request). The staff was kind enough to let us check in much earlier than 3pm which was great since we had driven all night. The hotel is minutes from Bear Mountain State Park and West Point and Highland Falls. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Basically the McDonald's of the hotel world, not flashy, not luxury, but basic amenities, satisfying stay at an affordable price. I needed extra towels and had to go get them myself, and they could use another toaster for the breakfast area to move things along. That being said, the breakfast was way better than other area hotels I've stayed at with hot selections with decent variety.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is about a mile and a half from Bear Mountain State Park. My husband and I stayed 2 nights in mid May. We were told prior to arrival that the hotel had been rennovated recently. We were not disappointed, and we would absolutely recommend this hotel. The rooms are beautiful. Rooms are outfitted with granite on several pieces of furniture in the rooms as well as the bathrooms. The rooms are spotless. The furniture has been updated and there are two different colors of wall paint on separate walls, which gives the room a modern feel. The furniture is tastefully done, more of a retro feel to it. Our room had a separate living room area that was connected to the sleeping area. There are two flat-screen TVs, one in the living room area and the other in the bedroom. The AC/heating vent is in the living room area which we like because many hotels have the vent right next to the bed, which blows the air directly on you when you are sleeping, which we don't like. Not a problem here. The beds were extremely comfortable. There is a mini kitchen in the living room area. There is a sink, mini-fridge, cabinets, and small counter-top space. There is a small hallway leading from the living room area to the door, and this gives the room a larger feel to it. The bathroom is beautifully decorated and very spacious. The shower is huge, has a built-in seat/place to put toiletries, the floor is made of stone tiles with varied colors. The shower has a rain forest shower as well as a removeable shower head feature, which I absolutely loved. In fact I loved it so much that I am going to have one installed in my bathroom when I get home. The removeable shower head is perfect for when you don't want to get your hair wet. You can maneuver the shower head to exactly where you need it and your hair doesn't get wet. Perfect for when you are not washing your hair. I got out of the shower and my hair just needed a little touching up but basically I looked like I had just washed and blow-dried my hair. Love... There is no bathtub but that was fine with us. The hotel has a standard hotel breakfast in the morning, but the eggs were freshly scrambled and not pre-cooked frozen/thawed like some chains, making this hotel a little above average in the breakfast dept. There were several kind of juices, various coffees, bagels, breads, english muffins, toaster. and mini-muffins as well as cinnamon buns. The cinnamon buns were above average. There was no waffle/pancake maker. Milk and yogurt were also available as well as several kinds of cererals. The hotel has a pool and small exercise room. There is a business center with one computer. The front desk staff were very helpful with anything we needed. There is free wi-fi in each room. We were extremely pleased with this hotel. We were in this area to attend a weddding at Bear Mtn. State Park, which is about 1 1/2 miles from the hotel. Bear Mountain has beautiful mountain views with lush greenery and mountain rocks all around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Address: 1106 Route 9 West, Fort Montgomery, NY 10922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fort Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point-Fort Montgomery is located on the scenic Hudson River less than 5 minutes from West Point - the premier USMA, the Historic Ft. Montgomery Battlefield Site, Bear Mountain State Park & Constitution Island. Holiday Inn Express welcomes you to Fort Montgomery. Visit West Point, NY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following West Point events: West Point Graduation May 17-23Reception Day June 26-28Acceptance Day August 14-16Army Football vs Duke Sept 12thArmy Football vs Ball State Sept 19thArmy Football vs Tulune Oct 3rdArmy Football vs Vanderbilt Oct 10thArmy Football vs Rutgers Oct 24thArmy Football vs VMI Nov 14th Your comfort is important to us. This Holiday Inn Express hotel is 'Your Home Away From Home' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Point
Holiday Inn Fort Montgomery
Fort Montgomery Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.