We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica Avenue is Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TGI Friday's

TGI Friday's
7001 Austin St, Forest Hills, NY 11375
(718) 793-3263
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 162 Restaurants in Forest Hills
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jamaica Avenue is Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Parking is horrible in this area.

The drinks are watered down.

The only good value is happy hour appetizers and happy hour drinks.

The appetizers are finger food but they are better than the regular entrées.

The service is slow and usually the waitresses aren't concerned with getting to you quickly.

This restaurant would be a lot better if all of the waitresses and waiters got their own tips instead of splitting them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Walked in and Walked out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First, I would like to say that I do not know what happened. It used to be good service and nicve wait staff. Now here is my experience.

- First as i walked in I was welcomed nicely. but that is just as i walked in the resturant. When I was at my table. I asked the waitress for the ( give me more strips and a coupon ) she said out of her ignorance that you need a print out. Then I ask the waitress ( his nevered happened before and what happened. ) With an attitude and disrespecfully gave me a rude reply. She also said that she worked there 4 months. LOL WOOOW. Why do she have the job With That type of Attitude. Maybe because she worked there 4 months. So as a result I peacfully left the Business and That was it. Not coming here agian if I have to see that waitress again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“fantabulous fridays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

atmosphere for the party people nice and noisy, food excellent, from burgers to salads to appetizers never had anything that I didn't enjoy. prices not cheap but affordable, cocktails are lucious

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Probably the best TGIF in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had lunch here with my wife and her friend Lily.

Our lunch didn't start out on the best foot as, when our waitress introduced herself by name, I responded with: "My name is Jamie; this is my wife Karen; and this is my girlfriend Lily. We share a..." - I was about to say "king size bed on the other side of Queens Boulevard", when I felt a kick to my shin. Lily was smiling but my wife was glaring at me. (It was only a joke!)

Lily and I had the $15.99 prix fixe (choice of an appetizer and main course). I ordered the pot stickers as appetizer and Lily had the BBQ Chicken Flatbread. My main course selection was the 6 onze sirloin. Lily had the "Dragonfire Salmon" that is glazed in a Kung Pao sauce. Karen just had the Dragonfire Salmon, even though she could have had an appetizer for just $2.50 more by getting the prix fixe.

I had Bud Light to drink and Lily had a glass of wine. My wife only wanted water to drink, dashing my hopes that I might get her and Lily drunk at the same time - the only way my "joke" in the second paragraph above might become a reality.

The pot stickers are my favorite TGIF appetizer. You get six Chinese-style dumplings that taste exquisite when dipped in the sauce that comes with them. My steak dish came with a choice of two sides and I chose fries and cole slaw. It was good, although it is one of the more boring items on TGIF’s menu and I enjoyed my pot stickers more.

I was the only one to order dessert and I tried a new item, the Whiskey Cake: Toffee cake with pecans, ice cream and Jack Daniel’s whiskey sauce. It was really delicious!

When eating here, the booths are best. If you're on the tall side (as I am), it is best to avoid the tables in the front section as they are a bit low to the ground.

Although the service was fast and courteous during this visit, this is a big place with many waiters and waitresses, so service can vary depending on who you get. The alcohol menu does not show prices, so make sure you ask "how much" before ordering from it.

All in all, great tasting food in a fun atmosphere at a good price.

[Note that Manhattan TGIF's don't usually have the same deals. They are usually more expensive and the food isn't as good because 1) they have higher operating costs; and 2) they mostly cater to tourists and so they don't care as much if they get repeat business.]

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I like it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have eaten here several times and liked everything I've had. It gets crowded on the weekends and the waiting area is kind of small. Lots of folks choose to eat at the bar. They also have some TV's which are usually tuned to some sporting event. Good prices and good service.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGI Friday's also viewed

 

Been to TGI Friday's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TGI Friday's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.